Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal wire routing

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by rmyen, Sep 20, 2013.

  1. rmyen

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    My first Phantom is a week old now and I'm trying to install a Gimbal.
    How should the flat cables be routed from the Naza to the Gimbal?
    Do I have to drill?
     
  2. flyshasta

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2013
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed the Arris CM2000. I disconnected the wires from the connecter using a small blade and lifting the retainer on each wire, then pulled the wires through the hole by the landing gear and reinstalled the connecter. GENTLE pull! One suggestion was to cut the connecter. That was Plan B for me.
     
  3. deluge2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Depending on the connector, you might be able to pass it through the existing holes (1 at the top of each leg). Folks have certainly drilled new holes as well if necessary. If you try to remove and then reinstall the pins from the current connector, as previous poster describes, be sure to use a gentle touch. The pin projections will only withstand limited bending cycles before fatiguing and breaking.

    Steve

     
  4. PJA

    PJA

    Joined:
    May 28, 2013
    Messages:
    368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    I uploaded a pic (not the best)... But it shows you those tabs/retainers...


    [​IMG]