Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal Turns Off When Inverted

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal' started by hashtlt, Sep 9, 2013.

  1. hashtlt

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    During Gps calibration "The Dance" my gimbal will turn off when I invert the Phantom for final vertical rotation. Sometimes it comes back on when leveled and sometimes I have to unplug and replug back in battery to turn gimbal back on to reset to original position (it kind of locks in upside down position from vertical rotation).

    If I dont invert phantom gimbal works fine.
    Is this common?
     
  2. MikeEvangelist

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
    That's normal. When the gimbal encounters unusual/extreme load or positions, it shuts down.

    After doing the compass calibration, just unplug and re-power, as you've already been doing.

    PS
    Sounds like you're calibrating each time you fly. You really only need to do it if/when you're flying in a drastically different geographic location than previously.
     
  3. hashtlt

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks that makes sense.

    I recently upgraded with new kit and reset all parameters and was calibrating gps after 3.16 urgrade, was out of wack so been doing the dance over and over.

    Mike thanks for your advice. I just watched your Phantom set up video, can you list your monitor brand?
     
  4. MikeEvangelist

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Minneapolis, MN
  5. hashtlt

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. Also it appears I have a version 1 of zenmuse based on your description of metal u bracket that holds go pro... I sure hope this one does not fail. I purchased from DroneFly great guys, actually stopped by the shop the other day and they hooked me up with a 8 pin black ribbon I damaged in initial install shoving it through little hole. (needs to be bored out a little before install of gimbal.