Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal Shake Fix P3 and Advanced.

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Ranger003, Jan 17, 2016.

  1. Ranger003

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hello all. Just wanted to supply some information on the dreaded gimbal shake problems that maybe develop after a crash from my own experience. You are going to crash at some point so here is a few bits of info:

    1) In the rear cover of the gimbal motor, align motor post so the flat portion of the post is paralell with the top of the camera. This can be done by using pliers and rotating the motor to the correct position and then align the potentiometer sleeve on the rear circuit board. There are many videos on this on Youtube.

    2) My issue was that I did this and still I would get the dreaded gimbal shake after many motor post alignments.

    SOLUTION: Get a another potentiometer circuit board from a crashed phantom 3, I am guessing that the Pro and Advanced have similar potentiometer circuit boards, and install with motor post alignment.

    NOTE: The gimbal motor on the camera is a fixed motor shaft and cannot be aligned as there is a permanent set screw on the motor shaft

    This worked for me and a relatively easy and cheap fix. I think that these circuit boards are very fragile and can go easily after a crash.

    Hope this helps and contact me if I can be of assistance.

    Ranger003
     
    Digdat0 likes this.
  2. Willy720

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ct
    thanks for this. I set the shaft and checked the set screw for back and fourth. All is good and gimbal still goes crazy at start up. Do you know where to buy a potentiometer board? Thanks for any help!!
     
  3. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
  4. Willy720

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ct
    sorry I don't see a link or anything to click on.
     
  5. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
  6. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    When a link is inserted in a post, it is the name of the page that is seen, not the url and its color is dark red. The mouse cursor will change when it is over it.
    Not always that easy to see ;), mouse works the best.
     
  7. Willy720

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ct
    Great thanks alot!!
     
  8. Willy720

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ct
    I don't see anything with Products or in dark red? where on the page??
     
  9. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    In Post #3 and #5.
    If you come with the mouse cursor over it, it turn underligned.

    Are you watching the forum on a computer or on a tablet ?
     
  10. Willy720

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ct
    PC.. how dumb am I??? I found it. I didn't see at first
     
    #10 Willy720, Aug 20, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2016
  11. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    First the url here just as text:
    Products

    Then the link to that url is just bellow (the text "Products").

    CLICK HERE ---> Products <--- CLICK HERE
     
  12. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Seems it change any url to a link.

    http : // shop.atkdrones.com/collections/all/gimbal?page=2

    Remove the extra spaces at start.
     
  13. Willy720

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Ct
    how dumb am I??? I found it. I didn't see at first. i see products now in red on #3 and #5 THANKS AGAIN
     
  14. Dronason

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2015
    Messages:
    498
    Likes Received:
    82
    Location:
    Switzerland
    You are welcome. Sometimes I search for it too. That's not that easy to see.