Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal rotation all or nothing

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by mortalbug, May 18, 2014.

  1. mortalbug

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have recently bought a Phantom 2 with a H3-3D gimbal. Using the Phantom software I have slowed the rotation of the gimbal to get a slow smooth pan, but while the lever on the back of the remote has a wide span of movement, the gimbal only moves when it's right at the edge of the possible movement area. This means that for the large part, moving the lever doesn't do anything, but then just at the very edge it makes the gimbal pan from fully forward to fully down without giving me the option of stopping anywhere in between. Is this just how the gimbal lever works or is there something I need to fix?
     
  2. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Have you tried calibrating the tilt lever from within the Phantom Assistant?
     
  3. mortalbug

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, when I calibrate the lever in the Phantom software it shows no movement until right before the end where it suddenly switches to the opposite side.
     
  4. gadgetized

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here. Can move the lever 90% of the travel and then boom. It goes to total opposite end of the range. No fine tuning. When changing the gain to almost 0 it does the same but just moves slower.
     
  5. tom3holer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Cod, Ma.
    There have been several cases of this and it is a quality issue with DJI. I would call your dealer and request a replacement.

    Tom
     
  6. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Agreed. It's either a problem with the potentiometer or a problem with the lever being fitted incorrectly. Either way you should request a return and replacement transmitter from your dealer.
     
  7. mortalbug

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, as far as you are aware, there's nothing I can do to fix it? I've had such a bad time with my dealer, if I can fix it myself, I'd rather do that.
     
  8. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    You could contact DJI, explain you're not happy with the dealer and what the problem is and see if they'll RMA it for you direct?
     
  9. KBurn

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine has just started to do this after upgrading firmware and calibrating! I'm really pissed off as I'm about to head on a long trip! :evil:
     
  10. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    glad im not alone on this one.

    I thought it was because I had a cheap walkera gimbal lol

    I see the x1 channel move in the naza assistant, but its choppy. Like, not a smooth transition to the middle and then the end.
    And like the OP, by the time it gets to the end, the gimbal just shoots straight down. I guess it doesnt matter to me for now since I dont have FPV via my gopro, so its not like I can really aim at what I'm shooting.
     
  11. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY

    let me ask this.
    I believe I read somewhere that you are supposed to turn the potentiometer all the way to the left before installation of the lever.
    Was that true?
     
  12. KBurn

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried everything, even making sure the lever was moving the contact inside... still nothing.

    Apparently the cause of this problem for many is that the lever does not make proper contact with the switch inside. Try squeezing the controller at the point where the lever is...if you hear a click, hold down and try the x1 lever again...

    I however resorted to buying another controller as I'm leaving for a 6 month trip with the P2 tomorrow :( will send the remote in later for warranty... now I'm stuck with another crap remote... can't justify buying a Futaba at this point and don't have time to figure out how to bind it with the after market remote and make adjustments :(
     
  13. tom3holer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Cod, Ma.
    Kburn,

    I am confused by "I however resorted to buying another controller as I'm leaving for a 6 month trip with the P2 tomorrow :( will send the remote in later for warranty... now I'm stuck with another crap remote"

    Are you saying that two different remotes do the same thing?

    If so it would seem that is not the issue.

    Tom
     
  14. adam1

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem. I tried everything. Then I downgraded the firmware, took it back to 1.8, now the x1 tilt and leaver works as it did do. I was about to give up!
     
  15. KBurn

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry if I was not clear.... what i meant was I tried everything..l even checking the apparently most common problem of the lever not seated properly in the switch. Nothing worked for me and I had to purchase a new controller. The new controller works just fine. I have also calibrated it and it works ok.

    I did not however try downgrading firmware to 1.08... might give it a go when I get back 6 weeks later assuming I have not sent in this other controller for warranty repairs/swap then...
     
  16. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY
    which firmware?
    Does the controller use different firmware?
     
  17. adam1

    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    The main firmware 1.8 for the phantom. I had the same problems until I downgraded to effectively upgrade. In my case the 3.04 messed up the x1 tilt. Now the controller calibrates as it should.
     
  18. FlyingSam

    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can you please tell us the procedures to downgrade ? and if there's any danger

    Thank you
     
  19. jfischer

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had this problem after upgrading firmware a while ago. Note that I have the H3-2D gimbal.

    Problem: When I slid the back switch my gimbal would go from 100% vertical to 100% horizontal with nothing in between. It felt like 90% of the slide action did nothing and that last 10% spun the camera 100% to the horizontal.

    Solution: I tried calibrating the switch (the using the software for the phantom) and to no avail. It was only when I calibrated (X1 I think?) using the assistant software that the issue was fixed.

    I remember that trying to calibrate in the phantom software that the switch didn't work properly. It was all one way or the other. No smooth transition. After using the assistant software (plugging the controller in via the usb) it worked properly in both sets of software.
     
  20. dragonash

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    906
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Brooklyn, NY

    So I should open up the controller and plug the usb cable into it, then open the assistant and calibrate it that way?
    I've only done it through the normal combination of the phantom and controller