Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal Non Functioning

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal' started by Rtdubz, Apr 21, 2015.

  1. Rtdubz

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I was flying a couple days ago and for some reason lost connection to the drone and it fell out of the sky, it first fell upside down and hit on the top of the drone, then bounced and flipped over and hit the gimbal. After powering it back up, the gimbal would no longer level or power on in the first place, the gopro works fine but the gimbal is limp. I noticed a tear in the ribbon cable and wonder if that is the problem.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Hello Rtdubz, welcome to the forum.

    The phantom doesn't usually fall to the ground just because you loose connection to the controller.
    If you can provide a lot more information you will get better help.
    Which Phantom do you have?

    I'm pretty sure your gimbal issue is the ribbon cable.

    Sometimes when they fall on their head it will break the GPS antenna.
    http://www.phantompilots.com/threads/upgraded-gps-4mm-ceramic-antenna-12-satellites.36525/
    http://www.ant-king.com/homeweb_en/catalog_detail.php?infoscatid=8&ifid=7

    Here is a great way to search within our forum:
    https://cse.google.com/cse/publicurl?cx=014775389315664725445:ejku2ysgyhi

    Good luck
     
  3. Rtdubz

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a phantom 2, just checked the gps antenna and it was the problem that caused to lose connection. Do you have any idea what I could do to fix the gimbal ribbon cable or replace it
     
  4. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Nope, not a clue about the ribbon cable. Lots of folks have discussed it here though.

    If you believe you have fixed the GPS issue, I strongly recommend an Advanced IMU Calibration and a compass calibration. My signature contains a link to some help, there are other pages there as well.
     
  5. Umpa

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2014
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you find a source for the ribbon cable let me know as I am looking for one too.
     
  6. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    You guys should ask "hunch". Go to the members list and type it in, start a conversation with him.

    He knows more that all of us ever will. ;)
     
  7. jason

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4,107
    Likes Received:
    405
    Location:
    Commerce Twp,MI
    The ribbon cable is not I repeat not available nor is the H3-2D gimbal. You would need to purchase either H3-3D or H4-3D gimbal