Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal Motor Overloaded intermittent error since 1.2.0

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by NoOne, Jun 27, 2015.

  1. NoOne

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    28
    Ever since I updated the iOS DJI Pilot App to 1.2.0 yesterday, I have been receiving the Gimbal Motor Overloaded error intermittently while flying. 2 flights now.

    1. There is no packing foam still attached, I have been flying this for over a month now, about 40 flights under my belt so far.

    2. The gimbal protector is not on.

    3. I do not have any filters or added weight on the camera.

    4. I checked the set screw that attaches the camera to the shaft and it is tight and square to the flat surface of the shaft as it should be.

    5. I have done a cold IMU calibration 3 times and calibrated the gimbal 3 times on a perfectly plumb surface since upgrading to 1.2.0.

    The gimbal seems to act as it always has which is pretty decent, other than the off tilt horizon which comes and goes depending on how you yaw the craft.

    Any ideas on how to resolve this issue?
     
  2. Chris van Wyk

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    I seem to have the exact same issue, the error comes and goes randomly, I to have had various flights and this issue only started after the last firmware update. My gimbal performs well and there does not seem to be any issues with it! I have never crashed. I use an iPad mini 2, might be a app glitch?
     
  3. FireFly88

    Joined:
    May 2, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Southern California
    Same experience with my P3A.

    I only get that when flying with my Android based tablet(Nexus 7 II). When I fly with my iPhone 6 and the iOS software I don't get it.
     
  4. fhagan02

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2014
    Messages:
    412
    Likes Received:
    329
    Sorry to here this for you guys. For what it's worth... I just got back from testing after reading these posts. Fortunately I had zero issues with anything: App update, warnings, calibrations etc. I even fly with the SRP ND's which weight 7g's and still had to gimbal motor alerts.

    Hope it's worked out for you soon.
     
  5. NoOne

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    28
    It has to be an app glitch. I have a P3A with the latest firmware and this issue only appeared today after I flew for the first time since the app was upgraded on iOS to 1.2.0.
     
  6. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    no issues here
     
  7. NoOne

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    28
    What version of the app is your iOS devices on?
     
  8. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    I have had the error. One time with the new app out of 6 full batteries.
     
  9. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    Hmmm, I will have to pay more attention to my gimbal motors, but so far no visible or noticeable issue with the gimbal.
     
  10. loganintx

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    9
    It happened to me last night as I was bringing the P3P back to land after filming the marriage proposal. Just noticed it and then it went away. I wasn't YAWing at the time. Only happened once as far as I could tell
     
  11. jeffreyi

    Joined:
    May 20, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    Only appeared today for me as well. It's been flawless for three weeks. I'm using an IPad 2. I did do an IMU calibration before flying today and everything went fine. Something in this new app version is causing this. Of course DJI was no help at all. Have to call my dealer on Monday I guess unless someone smarter than me figures this out. Safe to fly with this warning?
     
  12. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    I also got the error after updating to app version 1.2.0 last night. 3 or 4 times today over 4 flights. Pretty sure it's app problem. iOS on Air 2.
     
    skyhighdiver likes this.
  13. acherman

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    237
    Location:
    Alberta, Canada
    Happened to me on one battery today (out of 4). I haven't updated any firmware since I got it, but do have the latest iOS app. Message popped up a dozen or more times and went away.
     
  14. Chris van Wyk

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Seems like quite a few of us have this issue after the last firmware update, maybe someone like " blade strike " can give us some more clarity on the glitch! Checked my video I did yesterday and there is no sign of gimbal issues in flight but got the error 3 times on the last flight! Error lasts 1 sec and goes away!
     
  15. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    It's not the "firmware" update, it's the Pilot App update. At least I think that's the consensus.
     
    acherman likes this.
  16. Chris van Wyk

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Agree, must be the app! Seems there are quite a few issues with the app! Guys loosing fpv signal and now the gimbal overload error! My p3p is still as rock solid as the day I bought it, but this error is annoying!:mad:
     
  17. mzgm

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Croatia, Zagreb
    Same here. All my gimbal calibrations have passed and during moving I noticed the same on my P3P (v1.2.6 + Android DJI Pilot v1.20 + standard DJI UV filter). Depending on speed each 5-20 seconds the warning appears. During hovering there is no warning. It seems the value of some threshold for gimbal movement/vibration is too low because I have not seen any troubles with stability of video.
     
  18. Chris van Wyk

    Joined:
    May 26, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Had another flight tonight, quad was as solid as always, still getting the "gimbal overload warning" convinced it is the app! Will just ignore it for the time being as it has no effect on the video or the performance of the bird!;)
     
  19. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,209
    Likes Received:
    906
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    DJI had me remove the app and reinstall it. Then calibrate the gimbal and surprisingly no more gimbal issues.
     
  20. snerd

    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Messages:
    2,633
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Thanks, will do this tonight!!


    Sent from my iPhone 6+ using Tapatalk Pro