Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal Jello kind of a shake every once in a while???

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by abacus01, May 27, 2014.

  1. abacus01

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    So the only problem besides the changing light problem is i notice a shake or so and then the gimbal evens out the video. Is anyone else experiencing this...not sure if its me suddenly turning or rotating or maybe just a high wind but its not rock steady all the time. If anyone can shed any light on this..dont know if there is something i can do to recalibrate it attached to computer to resolve this issue? first ten seconds around 7-11 you can see the shake from side to side at 2:40 slight..I cut most of it out but do notice it quite a bit on videos i've been shooting..

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fmm1zzYxlhY
     
  2. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Looks like a bit of Cmos or CCD wobble and there isn't much that can be done about that. Check your gimbal operation while holding the phantom with the motors off but a battery plugged in by gently rocking it to and fro and side to side and see if you see any gimbal instability. If not it's probably the problem I mentioned. You should be able to go into the Naza assistant software and calibrate the gimbal.
     
  3. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    I can't help with the shaky video but I've got to say, nice house!
     
  4. shrill mute

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since the Vision uses a CMOS sensor there is absolutely no possibility that the wobble is related to a CCD sensor.

    It does not look like it related to the sensor at all as the bad sections of video are not the classic rolling shutter aka jello.

    I would check the gimbal for restriction due to mounting and/or cabling and then do the same yawing at lower altitudes where you can see if the gimbal is binding or jerking.
     
  5. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    Thats why I included both in my explanation as I did't know which one hence 'CMOS OR CCD. I thought it would be obvious to the simplest of minds.
     
  6. shrill mute

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Speaking of simple minds, please explain how a CCD sensor can exhibit "wobble" aka rolling shutter or "jello."

    Answer - since a CCD sensor captures an entire frame at one time vs. scanning top to bottom like a CMOS sensor it can't happen.

    Simple-minded indeed to compare apples and oranges as you did. Not helpful except to make folks chuckle at your post.
     
  7. abacus01

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    sounds like i'lll have to live with it and just edit out those parts on the video...i've also seen where they say i should do balancing..with sandpaper with the props...might help....how do you check the gimbal calibration to see if its doing anything out of the ordinary with the software im not savvy at using this yet...by the way the house is nice..thanks its a friends and its 6000 sq feet right next to a large lake...
     
  8. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    I notice I this at random times as well but more often when in full forward flight or hovering with camera at about a 45
    Ive been trying to narrow it down myself by watching my vids never happens in sideways flight or or slow forward flight
    thought I had I figured out as wind pressure on the camera but then noticed it in a hover on a few.

    Im with you very random and not every flight
     
  9. Ozzyguy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2013
    Messages:
    811
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Townsville,Australia.
    I was just trying to help not bludgeon others who are trying to help to feel superior. Now any sensor will have issues with the len vibration distorting the captured image. Rolling shutter which I didn't even mention is a different, thing involving as you said the sensor scanning the image.
     
  10. topshotphoto

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    looks like a less serious version of the gimbal shake issue I had. Was able to get mine replaced by DJI. I was within the 10 day period. It was not an easy or quick process. See my posts for examples.

    viewtopic.php?f=27&t=13700
     
  11. shrill mute

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are just digging that hole of ignorance deeper and deeper.

    CCD sensors handle vibration much better than CMOS sensors and capture crisp video even with the len[sic} is vibrating. It comes down to how the sensor captures the light coming through the lens.

    Not helpful once again.
     
  12. abacus01

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    1
    topshotphoto
    I looked at your video and yours looks exactly what mine is doing..except mine doesn't do it all the time..just occasionally...Im outside the swap out period..and guess i'll have to live with it..and like i said just edit out that footage....its kind of annoying it does that...i guess two years from now they'll iron out this gimbal problem and have better gimbals to use...well at least for now mine is flying well...im nervous reading all the problems peeps here are having...if i lose this thing..i won't spend another 1300 to replace....not worth playing russian roulette with this high priced toy....
     
  13. denofr

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2014
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just so we're all on the same page, you are not in FPV mode are you? If you are switch it off and test your video. The full gimbal action (smooth video) will only work with FPV turned off.

    Oh and for everyone on this thread, please keep the sarcasm for other sites. You may not realize it but you're discouraging others from participating. The users on this forum are overwhelmingly newbies, myself included, who are trying to learn as much as possible about their new expensive toy. Let's keep it friendly.
     
  14. XL-Studios

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2014
    Messages:
    149
    Likes Received:
    0
    With a house like that you almost deserve a little extra Jello :)
    However this is not something ordinary. It is as far as I can see not caused by FPV mode, shutter rolling or anything of such.
    You might want to check the gimbal cables, motors/blades (In case in fact the whole Phantom is shaking)
    Otherwise live with it or try to use the warranty.

    Good luck!