Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal issue. Starts fine then drops. Any ideas?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by wat17, Jun 12, 2016.

  1. wat17

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    4
  2. Gary M

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2016
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    132
    I've had my Standard since Feb 13'th. I'm getting it back in the mail on Tuesday after it;s THIRD trip back to Dji for repairs. That was one of them, but mine would also drop down, then up quickly, sometimes repeating every few seconds for some time. They said if they see that problem they will send me a new one. I'm just tired of the lemon.
     
  3. Pete Leare

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2015
    Messages:
    334
    Likes Received:
    105
    Location:
    Windham NH
    Had the same issue a while back.. Sounds crazy but a new SD card fixed it for me. Format in the P3 if possible, if not format in the PC on USB 2.0 ports instead of 3.0
    Good luck
     
  4. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    bad black ribbon cable.
    video on the screen or no? in either case i'm 99% sure it's the cable that doesn't register hence the drop after 15 seconds.
    has it been repaired in the past?
     
  5. Oso

    Oso

    Joined:
    May 19, 2015
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    1,474
    Location:
    Sacramento CA
    I was going to suggest the same thing.

    Maybe try it without the SD card inserted. If it works, do what @Pete Leare noted.
     
  6. wat17

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks. It use to show video but no longer.

    Cheers everyone will investigate.
     
  7. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    cable it is.
     
  8. wat17

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    4
    We replaced the black flex cable and that has fixed the gimbal drooping, but we still can't get a picture on the app. Any ideas?