Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal Installation Help

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Help' started by Jambuster1, Nov 25, 2014.

  1. Jambuster1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I am a relativaly new phantom flying and I have brougt the Phantom V1.1.1 with the Naza-M V2. I want to buy this gimbal just as a cheap option for stability: http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Gopro-Hero3-B ... 3a8fa45505

    I also am a novice in the world of electronisand soldering and so the main question is: would it be safe/ok to use the aux power from the phantom if I added a connector to it?

    Hopefully someone can help

    Thanks
    Jamie
     
  2. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    Some do use it to power the gimbal I use it to power my FPV & ran a power off the battery where it's soldered to the board for the gimbal .
     
  3. Jambuster1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for your reply, I've seen and read stories of the aux power catching fire or melting, so would it be ok for this gimbal or would it be best to use the balance lead?
     
  4. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Yes, the aux power lead is fine. It is attached to the main board where the battery connects. It's unfused, so if you short it out, you can expect melting and/or fire.
     
  5. PhantomFanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, GA
    I fuse my take offs.
     
  6. Jambuster1

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, thank you all for your help, I'll just add a reset able fuse between the gimbal and phantom board to be on the safe side. Thanks again :)