Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal fan

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by John Locke, Jul 16, 2015.

  1. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    1,101
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Does everyone with a Phantom 3 have that little fan on top of the gimbal? Attached is a photo. I'm led to believe this is a very recent update.

    I bought a replacement gimbal clamp from UAVBITS.com and it was designed expecting that fan to NOT TO BE THERE. This renders the clamp useless since it won't fit, due to the fan being in the way. I'm curious if everyone has this fan.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. The Viking

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Australia, NSW
    Just checked mine that arrived yesterday, and it has the fan.
     
  3. YolevonALLin

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    79
    they all have had them? I think?
     
  4. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    The guy at UAV bits flys Phantoms-- give him a call, if it doesn't fit-- I am sure that he knows that the fan is there.
     
  5. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I don't have one.
    mines the P3A
     
  6. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    1,101
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Yeah, figured the had a Phantom 3 when they printed this clamp, but it certainly won't fit over that fan. I'm thinking UAV got an early P3.
     
  7. tima4427

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    I got mine 10 days ago and it does have the fan too. I'm LOVING this thing!!! Exactly what I hoped for!
     
  8. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Now I'm worried.. Can you guys validate if its an advance or pro model.
    I hope I didn't get an early model....
     
  9. polymeric

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ USA
    No fan on my 1 week old P3A.
     
  10. tima4427

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've got the Pro 4K and do have a fan on the 10 day old beauty.
     
  11. wotblake

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    44
    All P3P's have the fan. The camera on the P3A likely does not get as hot as it's not processing nearly as much data.
     
  12. YolevonALLin

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    79
    Is this true that random units have a fan, and some don't? I'm purposed I haven't seen this

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
  13. YolevonALLin

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    389
    Likes Received:
    79
    [​IMG][​IMG]

    Is this the same thing? If so, why white. This is maybe a month old, but my second pro after a return. My first one was bricked by who knows. But I think it's "fan" was black.

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
     
  14. fhk

    fhk

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    18
    I'll trade you my gimbal guard for your fan :)
     
  15. walker16

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    42
    My 2 month old p3p has a fan
     
  16. fhk

    fhk

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    18
    Mine has a milled out area but no fan :-(
     
  17. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,908
    Likes Received:
    1,101
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Mine is a P3P and it's 3 weeks old, it has the fan. It seems the advanced version don't need the fan.

    Advanced owners should not feel bad. It's a good thing to NOT HAVE A FAN if you don't need it. It's a moving part, and moving parts are prone to failure!
     
    #17 John Locke, Jul 17, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2015
  18. fhk

    fhk

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    18
    I think you are right about that.
     
  19. ctp

    ctp

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    Nothing new here, the P3 Pro has the fan (To add cooling for the video processing chip), the advanced does not have the fan.

    I have not been able to find pictures of the inside the P3A camera to see if it is different from the P3P camera.
     
  20. BenDronePilot

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    131
    The fan placement from my understanding depends on if you own the Advanced or the Professional version as its only on the professional version 4k camera.