Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal doesn't charge GoPro

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal' started by id_mac, Mar 19, 2014.

  1. id_mac

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why doesn't my H3-2D Gimbal (Phantom 2) doesn't charge my GoPro? The first time I switched on the Phantom 2, it automatically switched on the GoPro and also charged it. That was also the last time it ever did that. Now I always have to make sure to use a fully charged GoPro because the Gimbal simply won't charge the GoPro.

    What could cause that?
     
  2. neiloakley

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are all the wires still connected?

    Have you tried a different gopro?

    What version gopro are you using?

    Do you have an FPV setup, if so does the video feed still work?
     
  3. UFOwithaGoPro

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Make sure you have correct generation of GoPro .... works with GoPro Hero 3 or Hero 3+
     
  4. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    Pull the GoPro, pull and reseat the battery, remount GoPro. Should cure the issue. If not contact GoPro & request warranty.
     
  5. id_mac

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's what I did:

    1) Removed the bracket and pulled the GoPro out of the socket
    2) Pulled the battery and put it back in again
    3) Inserted the GoPro into the gimbal and tightened the bracket to fix the GoPro
    4) Switched on the Phantom and et voila, it worked! The gimbal switched on & charged the GoPro!
    --------- :) ------------ but wait...
    5) Switched off the Phantom, but the GoPro stayed switched on
    6.1) Switched off the GoPro, then I switched on the Phantom but the GoPro stayed off & didn't charge anymore :|
    6.2) Switched on the Phantom with the GoPro still turned on, but still the gimbal didn't charge the GoPro anymore :oops:

    ==> To conclude. In order to make the gimbal charge the GoPro, I have to unmount it, remove the battery, install everything again and then it works exactly one time. After that, I have to remount everything all over again in order to make the gimbal charge the battery.

    Obviously this is not how it's supposed to work. What could be the reason for that? Gimbal broken or GoPro broken?
     
  6. LandYachtMedia

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Central North Carolina, USA
    Try turning off the gopro before turning off the phantom. See if that makes a difference.
     
  7. EMCSQUAR

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2013
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    N 44.895 W 93.354 Minnesota
    GoPro issue
     
  8. smcrmo

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you ever get this issue resolved? I've got the same problem. This morning I found the GoPro battery completely drained, even though I had turned everything off.