Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. Gary Dearing

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have only flown my Phantom 4 a half a dozen times but hadn't had a problem until yesterday. I lost video and saw the Disconnected error but I still had control of the quad. I flew it back and landed with no problem. I then saw that the "disconnected" was my gimbal.
    Today I find that with my iPad Mini3, The gimbal calibrated correctly on start up and I actually have manual control from the RC control wheel but still no video. I then connected with my Android phone and everything was working as it should! After several switches between my iPad and Android phone the results were the same each time. The Android works and the iPad doesn't.
    I am hopping that a new installation of the Go app on the iPad will fix my problem but my friends at Apple will only let me re-install from the Icloud which I assume is the same app configuration I am deleting. I have tried that re-install several times with no luck.
    Now my question: can anyone tell me how to get a completely new installation of the Go app for my iPad?

    I apologize if this should have been tagged onto the many disconnect threads and thanks in advance for any help.
     
  2. RocketBrew

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    224
    Location:
    Arizona
    Uninstall the app, then it is okay to reinstall from iCloud. That has fixed my issues every time after upgrading the app.
     
  3. Gary Dearing

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks but I have tried that several times and I still have the exact same problem. I delete the app and when I attempt to get a new download, I am only offered the Icloud version which hasn't changed anything. I am looking for a way to get a totally new download from the Apple Store.
     
  4. Redevil75

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Porvoo, Finland
    Well I don't know how much stuff you have in your Ipad but if you re-install it like new Ipad via Itunes it could work then. Had problems too when I was trying to get my used Ipad mini 2 to work but had to make clean install via Itunes and it worked.
     
  5. Gary Dearing

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you but I may have found the problem. I connected with a different lightning cable several times and I have video with no errors. I tried the original cable and sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't. I guess time will tell, I will repost if I have any more problems.
    Thanks guys
     
  6. Redevil75

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Porvoo, Finland
    buy new one XD cable i mean
     
  7. RocketBrew

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    224
    Location:
    Arizona
    In some cases folks here have had to do a full factory reset of the iPad to get it working. That is only effective when using iTunes to do the factory reset:
     
  8. Gary Dearing

    Joined:
    May 1, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks but I don't think I'll need to do that now, it looks like the new lightning cable will correct the problem. if I find that it is something else, I will post here.
     
  9. RCPILOT

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Sounds like a very similar problem on the P3P's. What you describe happens when the gimbal ribbon cable becomes loose or damaged. You should contact DJI since your P4 is still on warranty. On the P3P's replacing the cable is not that hard but by the looks of the P4's it may require taking the entire aircraft apart.