Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Gimbal calibration does not keep last calibration

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Saleh Penhos, Nov 22, 2015.

  1. Saleh Penhos

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Help!

    I have to calibrate my gimbal everytime I turn on my P3P, but worst than that is that I have to run twice the calibration to have an aligned horizon...

    I have tried:

    1. IMU calibration and immediately gimbal calibration, failed

    2. Unmount and remount the gimbal, failed

    3. Tight the screw that is on the L arm, failed

    4. Calibration during flight, failed

    5. Call customer service, no answer. Emailing them, and they asked me to send my P3P for service, and wait 6 weeks...

    Please help!
     
  2. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,143
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Remove the 30deg up setting, set gimbal wheel setting to make it fully up then follow your step 1 on a real horizontal plane with P3 in cold condition. If this doesn't work then you have to contact service center.
     
  3. Saleh Penhos

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks, but would you please detail the procedure?
     
  4. Saleh Penhos

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi,

    Could you please detail how to do it?
     
  5. mikeboruta

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ouray, Colorado
    I have this problem and have read (and tried) all the solutions without much luck. But until now I've never heard of turning off the 30deg up setting. I've always tried to calibrate with the camera facing "flat", but left the setting on. Does turning it off make a big difference? I'm skeptical, but can't wait to test this out.
     
  6. Saleh Penhos

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have tried it, but my real problem is that after 2 calibrations, the gimbal is ok... But when I change batteries or turn off and on the Phantom, I have to recalibrate, again...

    It does not save the calibration setting.