Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Getting rid of fish-eye appearance in GoPro images??

Discussion in 'Photos and Video' started by PhantomFan, Oct 27, 2013.

  1. PhantomFan

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York, USA
    How do you get rid of that??? I checked off the box in Advanced Settings in "Step 1" in the Import and Convert menu, but it seems to do nothing! I'm using a GoPro Hero3 (white) if that means anything. It's awful!!!!!!!!

    PF
     
  2. MKheng

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use ProDrenalin from www.prodad.com Works well with photos and videos and in my mind easier to use than the GoPro software, which you could also try.
     
  3. mediaguru

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Utah
    If you have photoshop, there's a lens correction filter which has numerous GoPro models in there. It works well in reducing the distortion.

    BUT, that is at the expense of a little bit of the photo quality as well as losing some of the data around the edges.
     
  4. PhantomFan

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York, USA
    Wow!!! Thanks for the heads up. I read the PC World review and downloaded the demo. The ProDrenalin demo worked nicely on my test video. Guess I'm going to have to part with another $50.00. ****...you can spend endless amounts of cash on this hobby in a flash. :oops:

    @ mediaguru: When I upgraded to a 64 bit rocket-ship of a computer (I like to do fractal rendering with Mandelbulb 3D, Fragmentarium and Apophysis) Photoshop refused to load, giving me an as yet unsolvable "No room on scratch disk" error. So far, no one I know has managed to solve this problem. I have searched repeatedly for a solution that works. None has. Maybe Photoshop just can't deal with being installed on a terabyte-sized drive, or else it's not stable in a 64 bit OS.

    PF
     
  5. mediaguru

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Utah
    Interesting. I'm running Photoshop CS6 and CC on two macs which are 64 bit, as well as a windoze 7 64 bit machine.
     
  6. simonthk

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2013
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    1
    50$ for prodrenalin is the very best price and program you get for a good stabilizer and fish eye removal tool. Think it this way :) You can actually take useable footage in abit of wind, cause the stabilizer will take whatever mount or gimbal havnt taken.
     
  7. mediaguru

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Utah
    I'm a mac user so I'm downloading their demo.

    I also have Adobe Premier and I think there's probably a filter (or maybe in Adobe After Effects) which can compensate for the lens distortion.
     
  8. boat chaser

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2013
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremantle, Western Australia
    the latest edition of gopro studio has a fish eye removal function. I shoot in medium 1080 sometimes to avoid this. The options the other guys talked about will get you a better results, but this is a way to remove the fish eye without having to buy any more programs.
     
  9. DrMucker

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello all I am brand new here
    and this is a very interesting question
    I use Sony Vegas Pro .. is there anyone out there using this
    and have you found a filter in it, to correct this issue ..
    I will go and have a look at the software that was mentioned
    I only just got the quad so I dont have anything to show yet from it
    but I do have a youtube channel
    DrMucker http://www.youtube.com/user/DrMucker/featured
    just like me username here, at the moment it contains over 200 videos
    most are travel to Belize and Motorcycling in BC (where I live)
    please check them out and I look forward to learning a lot from you all,who have been here and flying these
    things longer than me ..
    I have a new phantom and have so far only been learning to fly and video
    so it will be a while before I bore anyone with a video
     
  10. PhantomFan

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York, USA
    Howdy DrMucker!

    I also like to ride. I have a Harley Ultra Classic (my geezer-cycle) and a Harley Rocker. I live on Long Island, New York where the traffic is dense and the drivers are crazy. :lol: I'll have to check out some of your channel's videos!

    Fly your Phantom as much as possible. If kept in GPS mode it is pretty simple to fly and your skills will advance quickly. It's like training wheels for a bike. Once the stick inputs become automatic, you can try Atti mode. I'm not quite to that point yet...but there's fun to be had at every level with the Phantom.

    PF
     
  11. mediaguru

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Utah
    I've started messing around with the liquify filter in photoshop to compensate for the fisheye effect, after finding that the lens corrections which come with Photoshop CC don't really do much for the original GoPro

    My first attempt is here on my new site which was inspired by the Phantom and aerial imagery.
     
  12. PhantomFan

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York, USA
    Wow! That is a very nice result! Well done. That would only work for stills, though, unless Photoshop has some capabilities that I don't know about to correct videos.

    PF
     
  13. mediaguru

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Utah
    Thanks!

    Funny you mention that. There IS a way to automate the process apparently, so that it COULD be done with video. It would take a long time but it could be done. Each frame would have to be processed.

    I've also read that there are some similar capabilities in Adobe After Effects, which I'm going to check out and document as well.
     
  14. mediaguru

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Utah
    Reality check. Quite a bummer when I realized this.

    Watch some of your GoPro video. As the horizon moves vertically, the apparent fisheye effect changes.

    The angle the lens is at makes a big difference, which makes one "general" automated setting less likely to be a cure-all.
     
  15. ududidj

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Vegas Pro has a Deform filter that you can use to help reduce the fish eye. Like other filters/applications that perform a similar task, it tends to blur the edges a bit and you will likely need to zoom in the track slightly since the frame edges become cropped with the deforming. It can be fairly effective but it can take a bit of time to find out just what settings work best for your shot.

    Personally, I'm checking out other options as of current.

    Good luck!
     
  16. PhantomFan

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    408
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    New York, USA
    The IDEAL solution would be a corrective lens you could install in front of the stock GoPro lens to get rid of the optical aberation at the source. I used to design and build telescopes (reflectors, not refractors, so I have no experience grinding and polishing lenses, only mirrors) but I bet it COULD be done. I haven't used a ray tracing program in over 10 years...but again, the design of the lens wouldn't be all that tough, especially if you had a wrecked camera and the front lens to mount on your interferometer for correction.

    PF
     
  17. mediaguru

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2013
    Messages:
    311
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Utah
    I've actually heard of lenses for around $50 which can replace the old one and produce less distortion. Not sure if that is for the original GoPro or newer models.