Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Getting power from NAZA M V2 -/+ What can you get & where?

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by IflyinWY, May 2, 2015.

  1. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    So, the question is:

    "What voltage can I get & from which post on the NAZA M V2 flight controller"?

    A simple schematic will answer the question but a discussion about what you have used the power for would help as well. Apparently I have been powering my gimbal pitch with too little power.
    Have at it folks... any power related info on the NAZA would be welcome.
     
  2. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL

    Awhile ago RDCF550 did a breakdown of the P2's Main and ESC PCBs.

    There are 3 voltages available: 3.3vdc, 5.5vdc, and main batt. vdc.

    Though not 'official' the link below will take you to these docs.
    http://www.phantompilots.com/threads/wip-phantom-2-pcbs-schematics-and-info.28252/

    The Naza is not a source of, or involved in, power supply or regulation.
    However you can use the unused ESC ports, for example, for 5.5vdc, but...
    ...by taking power 'through' the Naza you risk damaging it if you have a problem with your mod.

    Best to try and get it from another source which you can ID with the docs. in the link provided above.

    Finally, I have not used or tapped into the power for a mod. or other uses so I can't help with any experiences. One will have to be mindful of the current needed regardless of where the power is taken from.
     
    #2 N017RW, May 2, 2015
    Last edited: May 2, 2015
    IflyinWY likes this.
  3. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Most typical and easiest is to draw power from the main battery bus by soldering wires parallel to either the battery wires or any of the ESC power wires.
    This will provide battery voltage (~12V). The 5.5V regulator on the main board supplies power to the Naza, and you can draw some of the available power
    by hooking up to the output terminals (M5, M6, F1, F2). The top pin is ground, the middle one is 5.5V, and the bottom is the servo signal. This is also
    indicated by the little diagram on the label (with the - + square wave).
     
    IflyinWY likes this.
  4. Lonewolf

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    Messages:
    447
    Likes Received:
    108
    IflyinWY, see my response on how I set mine up:
    Lonewolf
    http://www.phantompilots.com/threads/last-minute-help-mounting-walkera-g-2d-gimbal-or-return.39461/
    As I said in another post, I think using the NASM to supply power to your gimbal at 5.5v using the NASA is insufficient. The gimbal recommends using 7.4v-12v. 5.5v is obviously under the recommended standard.
     
  5. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    If I were to take power from my Naza, I'd add a fuse.
     
  6. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    AWESOME stuff, :D:D Thank you :D:D

    I never knew the NAZA and everything downstream of it ran off of 5.5 volts.

    The breakdown of the ESCs and P2 board is a great link. The whole thread makes my head spin. Sometimes I like it to spin though.

    Thanks for reading my mind and answering the question, "How and should I be using the power from the NAZA". I would be really upset if my $10 OSD fried my flight controller.:(

    Anyone want to spoon feed me a little more? Where is the 5.5 volt source on the main board of my FC40?

    If I am controlling the pitch on my gimbal with 5.5 volts from the NAZA, am I doing it wrong? That's the only way I have seen it done.

    What other questions am I not smart enough to ask? Please include the answers too.
     
  7. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    There's only one connector from the main board to the Naza module, and that's the output of the 5.5V regulator. It also supplies a reading of the main battery voltage.
    Most gimbals I'm familiar with require +12V. You're controlling the pitch with the pitch signal. The servo cable has 3 wires: ground, +5.5V, and signal.
    Living well and flying well are all about achieving the proper balance for everything.
     
    IflyinWY likes this.
  8. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    In response to A) That I can track. I humbly add :rolleyes: Duhh, I knew that.

    As far as B) goes: I refer you to this thread...
    http://www.phantompilots.com/threads/recommend-please-3-axis-gimbal.39620/#post-368630

    And C) Thank you for that CityZen. Words well spoken. ;)