Getting a Phantom..

Reaction score
forgive me if this is a stereotypical topic.. im new to the Phantom/quadcopter world and had a few questions about the Phantom 2 Vision +. what is the difference between the v2.0 and the v3.0? im not sure if its that big of a deal to me. i am considering buying one off of ebay and they dont mention which version of the + it is. is it just the controller being different or are there different features on the 3.0?
also i hear you cant take pictures while recording video (unless upgrading to a GoPro)? is there a limit to video and photo taking during flight?
and last but not least. is this something i should just jump into, or should i start practicing with a cheaper quad and work my way up to a phantom? i want quality photos and video abilities, and hear the Phantom is one of the easiest drones to fly.
oh and whats the cheapest way to get live video feed hooked up to your controller? i saw an iphone attachment in a picture somewhere.

thanks in advance..

Cloud

Check out Amazon too as they have good prices on the Phantom 2 Vision+ (v2.0 & v3.0).

To answer your questions:

- The notable v3.0 features are the new remote with rechargeable battery & wheel to tilt the camera, stronger motors, thrust-boosted props, anti-static compass, and better shielding on the inside to prevent interference from the WiFi module and other cables within the Phantom.

- It'll cost much more to convert a v2.0 to a v3.0. So, buy a v3.0 if that's what you really want.

- You cannot take pictures and record video at the same time.

- You could start with a cheaper quad, but it won't handle like a Phantom. It would be kind of like test driving a Ford Mustang and then going to buy a Lamborghini.

- The Phantom is super easy to fly -- and super easy to crash. Make sure you read the manual (at least twice) and check out videos online, etc. You'll find a lot of helpful information in this forum.