Generay fly-away question

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am completely new to RC flying in general and from my research, the Phantom seemed to be the way to go for newbies because of all the user-friendly features like GPS stability, etc. But now I'm reading all this stuff about peoples' Phantoms just flying away on them for no reason and its scaring the pants off me. My FC40 should arrive any day now, and I simply don't know all the facts about these fly-aways and am hoping I can get some solid info on the matter. I know the FC40 uses 5.8Ghz for command and control. Is this completely unique to the FC40 and/or all 1.1.1 Phantoms? If so, is there a consensus as to whether this makes them less susceptible to fly-aways? I expect to perform all the pre-flight calibrations and checks to minimize fly-aways, but are there any percentages as to the liklihood of one flying away regardless?

Also, I know it sounds stupid, but has anyone thought about tying some kite string to their Phantom so that if all else fails, you can reel it back in?

Thanks!

[quote="
Also, I know it sounds stupid, but has anyone thought about tying some kite string to their Phantom so that if all else fails, you can reel it back in?

Thanks![/quote]

Then we would just buy a kite!

Speaking for myself only, the couple times I have crashed have been pilot error. I thought I had lost control once and video shows it was my error. Pushing the bird to its limits is where you run into problems I think. I have been flying mine for a little over a month and 1oo flights, I am still not experienced it takes time.There have been a very few reports here that have no explanation. Most of the others we could surmise that in fact it was pilot error or something got jacked during and upgrade like broken solder welds or what not. JMO

I think it's a bit of a gamble, but you'll probably be fine.