Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

General Help getting started please.

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Dave Fisher, Apr 18, 2015.

  1. Dave Fisher

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brightlingsea UK
    I finally took the plunge and got myself a Phantom 2 Vision Plus, I'm slowly working through setting it all up, but I've come a cross a problem. The camera won't move up or down with the app on the phone or an iPad. I found a solution in one of the forums, that said to run the Phantom 2 assistant, which I'm trying to do, the problem is that despite the PC knowing the Phantom and controller have been connected the mode lights in the assist program don't light up, so no checks can be done. I've tried this on 2 different PC's with the same result. Has anyone got any ideas please?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,034
    Likes Received:
    5,603
    Location:
    US
    Dave Fisher likes this.
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,034
    Likes Received:
    5,603
    Location:
    US
    After you're connected to the Phantom Assistant, then calibrate your remote controller like this:

     
  4. David Bower

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
     
  5. David Bower

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Hi Dave, do be aware that you can't connect both the RC & the quad simultaneously to
    your PC assistance. The way to do it is connect the quad to the PC assistant and then
    switch the RC unit on. The RC & quad will then talk to each other via their own transmitters.
    Hope this helps.
     
  6. Dave Fisher

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brightlingsea UK
    Thanks for that, I've downloaded and installed the drivers, and everything worked with the assist program! But I still have the problem of not being able to control the camera via the phone or iPad app, but there is one difference, if I tap the "up arrow " on either of the apps (not at the same time) the camera drops down and doesn't come back up.
     
  7. David Bower

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    2
    Try hooking up to the
    PC assistant & switching on the RC. Then go to the Basic tab and the
    RC drop down tab. Click on the X1 Recalibrate button and wiggle the thumb
    wheel on top LHS of RC - you should see the graphic above centralise.
    Hope that helps - it worked for me.
     
  8. Dave Fisher

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brightlingsea UK
    Ah! Thank you David, it worked a treat! I've got a problem with camera control, but I'm getting there slowly :)
     
  9. Dave Fisher

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Brightlingsea UK
    Thank you so much for the help and info, everything seems to be working as it should, I'm very grateful and relieved!