Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Garmin GLO or Extra Battery

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Will T, Jul 29, 2016.

  1. Will T

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Hatboro
    Hello,
    Just looking for some advice. I purchased a Phantom 3 Advanced (my first drone) last week along with an IPad Mini 2 Wifi and Garmin GLO. Prior to the drone purchase, the individual that sold me the Garmin GLO told me that I needed a GPS signal in the tablet in order for the RTH feature to work. Without it, if the craft lost connectivity, I would probably never see it again. I have figured out the fella was mistaken.

    Now I have a bit of an issue. Should I return the Garmin and get a second battery? After reading a few posts I am not sure I really need the external GPS device right now. Until I get more flight time under my belt......

    I will not be resetting the home point to my current location after takeoff
    I will not be using the Follow Me feature
    Should I hold onto the Garmin or return it and pick up an extra battery?? Looking for some direction on this one. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thank You
    Will
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,061
    Likes Received:
    5,611
    Location:
    US
    This is not true. RTH will work even when using a mobile device that does not have a GPS receiver. The GPS receiver in your Phantom tells it how to get back to the home point.

    You do not need a GPS receiver since you are not going to use the features you listed above.
     
    Will T likes this.
  3. Will T

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Hatboro

    Thanks so much for the quick response!!!
     
  4. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,105
    Likes Received:
    314
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    I would opt for an extra battery. I fly with 4, and still wish I had 2 more, lol.
     
    flpholt and Will T like this.
  5. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    can never have enough batterys get more of them
     
  6. phxbird57

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    I would go with the second battery. at this time your probably not going to be flying it to far away and as other have said you can't have to many batteries. Maybe after a few month and many where your flying too if you will want a tracker. I've landed short a few times and was able to find it with the App. The farthest away that I tracked it was 1200 ft.
     
    Will T likes this.
  7. fastfed

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    544
    Likes Received:
    162
    I have 2 batteries and never use more then 1, getting 20 minutes out of a flight is a long time, for me at least
     
    Will T likes this.
  8. phxbird57

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    If you're like a lot of us you will find that you will start using that second battery.
     
    Will T likes this.
  9. flpholt

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2016
    Messages:
    4,178
    Likes Received:
    1,561
    Location:
    palm harbor florida
    I only have 6 batterys and 4 for my x star total 10
     
    Will T and phxbird57 like this.
  10. phxbird57

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2015
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    408
    Location:
    Phoenix Az
    maybe we need to start a thread on how many batteries do you ready need?
    I have 3 for my P3a and 4 for my P2v+(I'm not counting the extra batteries for the long trips for the P2v+) just the stock batteries.
     
    Will T likes this.