Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Galaxy Tab S2??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by dkyacht, Sep 15, 2015.

  1. dkyacht

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    3
    Anyone have one of these yet and using it with the p3p or p3a? If so how do you like it and what we're you using before it? Thanks in advance.

    Dave
     
    #1 dkyacht, Sep 15, 2015
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2015
  2. dkyacht

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    3
    Nobody has one???

    Dave
     
  3. dkyacht

    Joined:
    May 24, 2014
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    3
    Wow kinda surprised. .....

    Dave
     
  4. ksavoie

    Joined:
    May 29, 2015
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    21
    Anyone have a Tab S2
     
  5. Bob Lamond Jr

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'm getting a GS2 8" tomorrow and my P3P next week. I'd been told they are compatible but now wondering based on this short thread. Anyone out there that can comment appreciated.
     
  6. AndysAdventures

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2014
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Orange County, CA
    I just got a gently used P3 Advanced off Craigslist and bought a Galaxy Tab S2 9.7" tablet for it.

    It works perfectly with no lag.

    Definitely much better than my P2 V+ with a Galaxy S5 phone.
     
  7. MikeyG

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes I have one and I've used it a couple time but its easier to just use my Note 5. It works fine, nothing special.
     
  8. emederos

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    It seems this will be perfect the galaxy tab s2 8.0, i have a ipad mini 4 runs good but spec wise its the same as tab s2 so i will return the ipad and test the galaxy tab s2. Any feedback or other people who tested the tab s2?
     
  9. emederos

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it run smooth with djigo app? Any rebooting ir crashes during flight? How about lag?
     
  10. Bob Lamond Jr

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks! I'll report my experience next week after getting my P3P!
     
  11. emederos

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess i have to wait, i would lobe to know how to be able to watch my flights on my ipad storage? Samsung does this automatically
     
  12. Albert D

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Winter Springs, Florida
    I have Samsung Galaxy Tab S2 9.7 32GB LTE - I love this with my P3P. Fits well in the device holder (only 2-3 clicks to lock), screen is bright and works well in Florida sunshine. No lag, no crashes. I have my Tab S2 semi-dedicated to my P3P, so I have only loaded a few extras on it - I also have not done anything special to disable any of the stock software that came on it, but I have zero performance problems with my P3P. I run DJI Go and Litchi, and upload my flight logs to Healthy Drones. I agree with the person who said they use their Note 5. I use mine sometimes (with everything else installed) and it works fine, but I prefer the big screen on my Tab S2 9.7. I considered getting an 8 inch tablet at one point but realized it was barely larger than my Note 5.
     
  13. emederos

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the reply , i have a mini 3 i just got it runs great with app, just wanted samsung because the file transferring of files is pretty much effortless and my note 3 would automatically save my flights on my phone. Just found out it should be in the cache file ON in the app and apple should do the same. Apple has the lightning adapter that makes file transfers easy so ill just keep my mini 4
     
  14. Noodle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    If you already have Mini 4, I don't see much point of changing your tablet.
    I also have 9.7" S2, loaded with all my other apps. It runs DJI GO very well. Only thing is 9.7" tablet is a bit top-heavy on the R/C. The 8" version would be a perfect balance I think.
     
  15. emederos

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    I like the ipad its smooth, only tested it a night but the real test will be during the day, what i like about the samsung tab s2 is the memory is upgradable, apple im stuck with 11.2 g which sucks, 1 long 4k video will almost fill that
     
  16. Albert D

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Winter Springs, Florida
    I am going to rig some kind of attachment to my neck strap to keep the rc upright with my 9.7 attached :)
     
  17. Noodle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    So if your Mini 4 only a 16GB model? If so, don't bother copying your 40mbps/60mbps video files onto it, copy into your computer. Should have bought at least a 64GB model if you want to copy those huge video files in the first place.
    My S2 has 32GB internal memory and I have added a 32GB Samsung Pro micro SD card. I don't even want to load those huge video files onto my S2, their place is in the TB hard drive of my home computer :D
     
  18. Noodle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I am using a leftover neck strap from my broken Canon digital camera :D

    [​IMG]

    You might need those shoulder strap if you really want to keep the R/C upright.
     
  19. emederos

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2015
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well actually im not interested in storing them there since i have a 64g on the craft where the videos are high def, just the cached videos will fill it up quick. One question i do have when i check my videos after my fligta i notice they cut into 2 videos, one about 10 minutes and the other about 7, why is that?
     
  20. Noodle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    535
    Likes Received:
    179
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    I believe your micro SD card is formatted in FAT32, thus the maximum file size is 4GB, which is that first 10 minutes part. It doesn't bother me anyway as I can easily stitch those video files together in my video editing software.