Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Futaba radios bind with 1.1.1?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Howzit, Mar 21, 2014.

  1. Howzit

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was told that the stock Phantom 1 (1.1.1) has the ability to bind with Futaba transmitters? Is this true?

    If so, any of you have a link to a threat here or a video on youtube that explains the process?
     
  2. Hiway

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    2
    The radio has to be programmed first- there is a bind button inside the battery compartment- up top, if you look- small black thing.

    Post up which Futaba you have and then we can figure out which thread is best to study.
     
  3. Howzit

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome, thanks.

    I do not currently have a Futaba, but was going to check out the local hobby shop and look them over. Any suggestions on which model to get?
     
  4. Hiway

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    2
    Since you are new to them, I suggest the T8j or 8FG.
     
  5. Hiway

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    2
    I should point out that it is a slippery slope you are about to tread down... the radios come with matched receivers, and you will want to install the receiver as it is better. That leads to implementing other options.

    If you want just a radio, that will bind to the phantom and control it- then find any "FASST" radio by Futaba on the used market from a reputable vendor and it will be fine- I have a 10CG- it is a nice radio- it is discontinued... maybe you can find one of those cheap? (subjective- average price for a decent radio is 200 to 400 bucks)