Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Futaba 8FJ Throttle not working

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by calipilot, Jun 11, 2013.

  1. calipilot

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    We recently tried reverting back to the stock DJI radio from the Futaba 8FJ since we want to use the Futaba on another copter. Now sure why, but the stock radio wasn't working and not even recognized by NAZA (switched everything back to factory, and traditional instead of d bus).
    So then we went back to the Futaba, which was recognized by NAZA. Recalibrated and changed back to d bus.
    Upon the first test flight again, everything worked fine, the props spun for take off.
    HOWEVER, now the throttle isnt working. We can't get it off the ground.
    No settings were changed on the Futaba itself. Is there anything in NAZA we need to change?
    We re-calibrated the Futaba as well as the copter and all motions are recognized.
    Seems odd that only throttle up/down isn't working. Hoping its an easy fix.

    Any comments or advise appreciated!
    Thanks
     
  2. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    That's very odd.
    so in the NAZA it shows full throttle movement all across the range?
    and when you say it's not getting off the ground, do the engines spin up or react to throttle in any way, especially after the 50% threshold?
    ..and you're sure you put your shell top back on properly and not 90 degrees wrong?

    In the future, you can pick up extra Rx's and bind them so that you can run multiple craft with one Tx. (my eventual plan perhaps)
     
  3. calipilot

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya, in NAZA all motions are registering in movement. Any yes, moving the throttle at all does not register with the copter.
    When putting both sticks diagnol and center the engines fire up and props spin, but then moving throttle we get nothing.
    Even assigned all gains to the knob and tried turning that up and still nothing...

    The shell top I am not sure about, as my friend was the one who had opened it and previously (and successfully) installed the futaba.

    Would we blatantly notice the shell top on wrong, like things wouldn't line up?
     
  4. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    So when you put the throttle up over 50%,. it revs up? or not at all?

    You can tell if the shell is on wrong by looking at the grooves for the red stickers, indicating the front. that should line up with the grooves on the lower shell.
     
  5. calipilot

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2013
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    moving the throttle above 50 does nothing, but adjusting the gains made a little rev
     
  6. Racklefratz

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2013
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    No. The method I've used to get things back together like they came apart was to put marks on the body parts prior to taking them apart. That being said, I can't see it would make a whit of difference if you didn't get it back the way it was before. The only component installed in the top half is the GPS antenna, and it ought to work regardless of orientation - after all, the Phantom rotates in flight normally, and that has no effect on performance.
     
  7. andrezzz2u@aol.com

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the exact problem with same radio Futaba 8fg, All functions through naza work, motor start up, but no throttle response after motors are activated.. Please Help...
     
  8. crash2burn

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    (repost from viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1077&p=8956#p8956) I have the same exact problem with my new naza v2. Setup looks perfect, followed all the youtube videos. Arm the naza v2, motors spin up to idle but no throttle response at all. All other stick directions work and rev the motors, but throttle (even past 50%) does nothing! I've changed out ESCs to DJI octo 30a ones hoping they would work, still nothing.
     
  9. crash2burn

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Upgrading firmware to 3.14 fixed my problem!
     
  10. Sac D

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Northern California
    By the way, the stock transmitter for the Phantom is neither "traditional" or "D-bus" as it is a PPM type.
     
  11. Dominator

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've just swapped to a Futaba T14SG & R7008SB, ensure you reset/flash the IMU to default settings first and you'll have no issues at all.
     
  12. mikrob

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2013
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    The reason the shell has to be proper is that the arrows showing direction are on the shell arms. If you turn the top shell 90 degrees when reassembling then the counter-clockwise arrows will cause you to put counter-clockwise props on a clockwise motor. And vice versa.