Futaba 8FG Super or Futaba 14SG for Phantom 2?

Reaction score
Please help me decide which radio to buy for my new P2. Trying to decide between Futaba 8FG Super and 14SG. Do not need the telemetry on 14SG as I will be installing an iosd mini on the P2. The price difference is about $150. Not too concerned about price ...just wondering if there will be any benefits of the 14SG over the 8FG for my purpose. Thanks!

Want to know this as well...

Also how does one pair the TX and assign each function like IOC, GPS and Atti etc...

Are these that much better that the stock one?

Why are you wanting to go with Futaba?

P

I am new to Quads, but bought a P2 Gimbal version last week. I have added GP 3+Black, MiniOSD and Fatshark Attitude transmitter. I have read many many forums and viewed many videos on Phantoms / FPV / Radios and I came to the conclusion that replacement radio was the way to go to protect my investment (if that's ever possible). The consensus seemed to be Futaba 8J, but as that is rarer than Rocking Horse pooh in the UK, I went for the 14SG. The benefits I should get are better quality radio (range and frequency hops), additional channels (I have an unflown servo pressing the shutter button) and extra telemetry (14SG comes with R7008SB, which transmits telemetry back to the transmitter). I replaced the stock receiver easily despite having no experience (there is plenty of info on these forums / YouTube). I would say that the original receiver in the P2 may well be better than the older P1 version, as it does have twin antenna for diversity, but I don't remember reading a specific comparison.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

The stock DJI transmitter is a toy compared to the Futaba's. (and I'm not really exaggerating either).

If you're hooked on this hobby, the sooner you can get into a better Tx, the better off you are. (same with a battery charger, of which the DJI is also as crude as they come).