Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Free Can bus module in flight

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by andersonpaac, Aug 25, 2014.

  1. andersonpaac

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois USA
    I'm planning on adding the ground station to my phantom 2 h3-3d. It already has an iOSD mini. Do I need to buy a can bus hub or is there a free can bus port on the craft?
     
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Re: Free Can bus module in flight

    The iOSD mini has a spare canbus port on the side, commonly used to connect the groundstation data link. No hub needed ;)
     
  3. Sledge

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2013
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    3
    Re: Free Can bus module in flight

    What is grounstatoon datalink used for exactly?
     
  4. HarryT

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Warrington, UK
    Re: Free Can bus module in flight

    As its name suggests, it's required to link with the full PC/Mac Groundstation product, which allows you to program your Phantom to fly a pre-programmed course, even beyond the range of the transmitter.
     
  5. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Re: Free Can bus module in flight

    You can use the extra canbus port on the iOSD mini internally if you like. I just did it myself and added the ground station data link module internally.

    Details here: viewtopic.php?t=23084
     
  6. andersonpaac

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois USA
    Re: Free Can bus module in flight

    Thanks alot! Have you noticed any decreased flying time due to the ground station?
     
  7. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Re: Free Can bus module in flight

    Haven't in flight yet but I also don't have a clean " before" baseline
     
  8. andersonpaac

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2014
    Messages:
    338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Illinois USA
    Re: Free Can bus module in flight

    Phew , If you've not noticed anything , it probably isn't anything drastic!