Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FPVLR Stage 2 Deluxe Mod What Did I Do Wrong?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by jdvmi00, May 3, 2014.

  1. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I've got the FPVLR Sage 2 Deluxe Mode all setup and I've done some test flights. So far the results aren't that great and they are really bad close in unless i'm perfectly aiming at the drone, and I mean perfect. I drop FPV quite a bit, I must have done something wrong. Anyone with this setup have recommendations on things to check?
     
  2. mr_3_0_5

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you have another ufl to rpsma wire I would try it
    Some people have had problems with them
     
  3. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately I dont have any others
     
  4. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where can I get these cables? The only ones I have are the ones you sent me
     
  5. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, got 4000 ft. Its closer in that is giving me fits, guess I will be ordering a pinwheel for the phantom. Back in line I go...
     
  6. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, that damaged connector was on the 5.8 side, not the 2.4. I just did another flight and it seemed to perform quite a bit better. It's still not like the OTB close range, but I guess I can deal with that. I do have both a 1W dual mimo and a 2.5W sunhans on the way, you think these will make my close range better? Dang, my tray is going to be HEAVY :)
     
  7. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Ok my friend I got out today to my low wifi area and had great results
    still no record for me but was not your fault
    I had 640 15pfs out to 5167 FT with just a half dome and one stock on repeater
    was limited to this distance by a lose of control signal (something I did not have on my vision 1 until 1.5miles)
    so I think the combination of lower power control and higher power wifi repeater have brought the two closer to in sink
    Myself I will stay with what I have as really only fly 2500ft max anyway
    Thanks for getting my video feed to match my control :D :D :D :D
     

    Attached Files:

  8. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tony, I know you say don't use the 2.5 booster, but would it act just the same if I used the 2.5 booster on just one of the pinwheel antennas and didn't hook up the other. The reason I ask is because I have the 2.5 booster and the 1W mimo won't be here for a while.
     
  9. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its looking like I will need to put some antennas on the bird. I'm losing 5.8 at about 4000 ft out :(
     
  10. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Booster on the 5.8? I have 2.5 W and a 1 W mimo but they are both 2.4 boosters. I really hate waiting for shipments from China :eek:
     
  11. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I get the broken connection returning home. Do I need to aim really well with the RC antenna?
     
  12. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    So is my next step to improve this to add the RHCP 5.8 GHz Pentalobe V.2 1.9dbi to the bird? I guess I could also boost the 5.8 with the sunhans 1W 5.8 booster, or I could do both ;)
     
  13. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Tony, I'm going to order the 1W 5.8 booster. One final question... I'm going to run attenuators out of the repeater into the 1W mimo booster, should I do the same coming out of the RC into the 1W 5.8 booster?
     
  14. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, now that I think about it, can't I just adjust the 5.8 output using the pot on the back of the remote?
     
  15. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tony,
    Not sure I'm going to do this but wanted to know if it would cause any issues, I don't think it will, but wanted to double check.
    With this kit http://fpvlr.com/shop/index.php?route=p ... duct_id=82
    would it hurt anything if I dremel'ed out each antenna, by cutting through the plastic, and made them stand alone? I'm thinking of using the 2.5 W booster on just one helical to bet a better beam width and making my footprint smaller. I may just dremel off one of the helicals so that I have the 5.8 & 2.4 together as one, but not sure. Would this cause any harm? Are they spaced in a certain way that if I separate them there will be issues?
     
  16. jdvmi00

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2014
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Perfect, Thanks!