Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FPVLR Antennas

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by leekiya, Apr 9, 2015.

  1. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    wonder if they are going to bring out some antennas for the p3, they have a kit for the lightbridge but not a inspire kit so to speak which surprises me. Will they bring a Half sphere helix and omni for the controller i wonder. I know 2k is way far enough which will be more like 1.5k in the real world but be interesting to see if they do.
     
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I'd almost guarantee it. There's $ to be made.
     
  3. max

    max

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2014
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    6
    I emailed Tony last night. He said he expected to have a specific kit within a month
     
  4. garrock

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Portsmouth Ohio USA
    I know DBS and itElite are working on a Linear Polarized Panel Antenna Solution right now.

    That makes sense because the P3 drone now has Linear (vertical) Polarized antennas in it landing legs; they are not circular polarized. A circular to linear mismatch can cause a 3dBm drop in signal strength.
     
  5. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Prather CA
    He's already got a kit for the inspire ..
    option 1 and 2..
    4 miles with option 1
    and 5 to 6 with option 2..
    I'm sure the performance will be similar on the phantom 3..
    also I've heard the inspire controller will work with the phantom 3..
    turbo. .
     
  6. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    not seen that kit where is it in there web site, i have only ever looked under the DJI kit tab. will hunt now
     
  7. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Prather CA
    I'm not sure if he's had time to list it on his website sales@fpvlr.com. .
    I have a option 1 kit for my inspire and it is awesome. .
    turbo. .
     
  8. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Cool you have the inspire great machine, and with a 4 mile kit that's well, pretty much amazing i bet. love the speed and how responsive it is. I will have one some day, but for now look forward to my new arrival of the lesser bird. lol
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  9. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Prather CA
    It's all good brother. .and yes the range capabilities of rhe inspire 1 is absolutely amazing ..
    the P3 will be awesome too..they advertised the inspire1 as having a 2km distance capability and stock I've heard up to 3 miles..
    2 being easy to achieve. .
    so I believe the same will be true with the p3..
    happy flying. .
    turbo. .
     
  10. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Thanks turbo.
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  11. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    What tablet are you using while i have an inspire pilot at hand. we have another post on this subject going on now. Im thinking of going for a ipad mini 2.
     
  12. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Prather CA
    I use the nvidia shield. .it has a screen recoding device and also you can play your SD card directly on the shield in 4k..
    also it has an hdmi port that I connect my dominators to..
    My only complaint is that the screen is small..
    it's like 8 inches. .
    It cost 400.00 usd and I added it to my atnt account for 10 bucks a month. .
     
  13. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Cheers turbo, helpful advise. :)
     
    turbodronepilot likes this.
  14. Cooter3690

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2014
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    13
    Just thought of something awesome. Should come out with support for the inspire so as you pan and tilt your head while wearing the video goggles you can pan and tilt the camera.

    Do it yourselfers have been making quads and fixed wing birds like that for years now.
     
  15. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    People have been getting up to 5KM (3miles) on the stock antennas, and that will run a battery down to zip, so I don't see the need for more range mod's to the P3. Went that route with my P2 and ordered the P3 just so I wouldn't have to mod it to get out 2 miles.
     
    Apparition and dirkclod like this.
  16. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Prather CA
    I have a buddy that's trying to do that on his inspire with a fpv cam and head tracking through his dominator he's..
    Also you can use the shield game controller to operate your camera ..some have warned about possible interference due to it using the same 2.4 ghz band..but say the chance of unwanted interference is low..
    Turbo..
     
  17. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Prather CA
    Well it takes a little more than three miles to run down a battery and that's true a inspire can go up to three miles on stock eqiptment ,but I've only heard of a couple getting that kind of range..
    Many get far less ...depends where you fly and how much interference there is ..
    Did I see dirkclod like a post saying stock was good enough?? Lol:eek:
    Turbo..
     
  18. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    One guy posted a video of him (hellipal) going out 5KM on stock antennas, still had a good link, he made it back with 1% battery, a bit to close for me, I don't live that dangerously with such an expensive gadget.
     
  19. turbodronepilot

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2014
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Prather CA
    I went 20000 feet and landed with 8 percent in reserve..
    I live on the edge!!
    Turbo..
     
  20. RyanK

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    46
    Please post video. Would love to see that.