FPV with iPAD?

• Thread starter Deleted member 20291
  • Start date
D

Deleted member 20291

HELP!!!!! I'm sorry to say I'm a very newbie. I'm going to by my crippled brother a DJI Phantom 2 Vision PLUS so he can feel like he's free to float and fly and not stuck in his wheelchair. Here is a link to the Canadian store on the exact product so you know what I'm buying.
http://www.henrys.com/85168-DJI-PHANTOM ... prodtabs-1

My simple question is this..... he has an iPAD 2. Can he use this for FPV while flying? If not I have about $850.00 (Canadian) to buy a new iPad Mini, or the ANY new iPad if they will work as a FPV. He's 60 and he cant use the small iPhone for the FPV, its to tiny for his eyes. I prefer the iPad so he can use it for editing his movies and pictures with iMovie. I have heard of the Black Pearl Monitor but to be honest I know nothing about soldering and wiring which I think needs to be done if I buy that instead of an iPad, plus I think it needs a TX/RX as well and that sounds like more than my budget. Plus.... I know the Lightbridge thing is out there but that's waaaaay over my budget. Can ANYONE help me to find out if a NEW iPad will work as FPV and if the APPS DJI Vision and GS (Ground Station) will work too. His birthday is February 1sr so I gotta move quick. Thanks to anyone who can offer or help with advice to this newbie.

Thanks so very much dirk for your help. You've help me to make the final plunge/decision to buy. Thank you.

Welcome to the site. First off, you are a great brother. Next, I have a friend that uses a iPad & loves it. I use a mini & love it also. I would use what you have & if any problem then look at a mini.