Fpv phantom filming a hawk

Interesting... what camera are you using for FPV? I'm just learning to use the Predator goggles and find it very difficult to get any detail with the stock Fatshark cam. I don't think I would have been able to spot the hawk on the fence from any distance.

I'm using a go pro hero 3. Picture is really clear and has a timer on the top of the fpv goggle screens that tell you your how long you have been flying.

I've had some birds freak out (Canada geese and crows) if I get too close and do a mock attack. I'm never closer than 15 feet or so, but a nest nearby may make the bird defensive. Be careful with the raptors as they think they're top of the food chain and may attack, injuring themselves and knocking your quad out of the sky as well. That's more bad press we don't need.

Roadkilt said:
I've had some birds freak out (Canada geese and crows) if I get too close and do a mock attack. I'm never closer than 15 feet or so, but a nest nearby may make the bird defensive. Be careful with the raptors as they think they're top of the food chain and may attack, injuring themselves and knocking your quad out of the sky as well. That's more bad press we don't need.

Have you ever actually known of a raptor attacking an RC plane or copter?
I see it as a possibility I suppose, but I tend to think that this is just urban legend?

Having flown RC planes and plenty of buddies who fly RC gliders, I've heard of hawks flying alongside planes and gliders sort of checking them out, but never any accounts of them being aggressive, just curious.

I certainly don't advocate chasing raptors with any RC flyer, or chasing deer in a field either.
But you're right, a Phantom's blades could do a lot of damage to raptor.
It seems a lot of people believe that the blades are harmless, but I've seen photos of two people with nasty head laceration caused by their quadcopters.