Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FPV not working - no physical damage

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by jaytrizzle, Sep 6, 2014.

  1. jaytrizzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a slightly rough landing on grass last week about a 5 foot drop - only one of the prop guards fell off. I had the quick disconnects so there was completely no physical damage as far as I could tell. I didn't remember if FPV was still working when I turned it off but a couple of days later, the FPV would only display iOSD data, which was accurate.

    Setup:

    - P2 with H3-3D Gimbal
    - Delvcam Dual Antenna 7" Monitor (RX)
    - DJI AVL 58 TX
    - DJI Hub
    - GoPro Hero 3+ Black Edition
    - iOSD mini

    Things I tried to correct to problem were:

    - Take out/put back in P2 battery
    - Turn off/on P2
    - Turn off/on P2 remote
    - Turn off/on GoPro
    - Turn off/on Delvcam
    - Unscrew/screw TX antenna

    The P2 is still able to compass calibrate - the lights were solid green. The next day, I tried to see if anything changed. Now the monitor doesn't even show iOSD. So the status is:

    - iOSD mini blinking green
    - AVL 58 TX blinking green/red simultaneously on LED and SCH LED is off.
    - Delcam is black, but no snow.

    A pic of the hub: https://www.dropbox.com/s/f1oflt1mbhgo0 ... 0.jpg?dl=0

    It has been jerry rigged by my mechanic friend about 15 flights before this. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thx!
     
  2. jaytrizzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone here?
     
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I'd be willing to bet the original problem is due to a fracture in the USB ribbon cable connected to the gopro, that's a common failure point even without a crash. You should have a replacement in your H3-3D box, but if not you can get them at most DJI dealers for $4.

    I'd also be willing to bet that the later problem (no video at all now) is due to that wiring job. Mind if I ask why it was done that way? It'll be very hard to troubleshoot with that, you'll probably be better off getting a new hub ($12) and connecting everything the way it should be. With the components you have I don't see any reason to have funky wiring like that.
     
  4. jaytrizzle

    Joined:
    May 31, 2014
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey OI, I switched the ribbon cable. Didn't do a thing. Any other ideas? I might call B&H and see if they have any ideas.
     
  5. knuckles

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2014
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Arizona
    it looks like there's direct soldering on the plug and play FPV hub that looked kind of odd to me but if it was working before I don't really know. I assumed you already checked if any solder joint or anything else inside or otherwise got jarred loose