Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FPV iOS issue

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by RobFallen, May 7, 2014.

  1. RobFallen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally got the gimbal issue sorted but now I'm getting weird disconnections on my plus I never got on my old vision :( see pics attached, the minute u walk a couple of feet away from my phantom or start to fly I get disconnected, any advice please guys??


    Sent from my iPhone 5s using Tapatalk 2 Pro
     
  2. RobFallen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Images




    Sent from my iPhone 5s using Tapatalk 2 Pro
     

    Attached Files:

  3. PhilAnderson

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2014
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Living In The Woods Of Beautiful Bonney Lake, WA
    Just a guess, but check your wi-fi connection to make sure it still says Phantom xxx and not some other wi-fi name.
     
  4. RobFallen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    it does but it keeps dropping it, will try again tomorrow in flight mode and try with my ipad mini to see if there is any difference
     
  5. rostov007

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    Dirty Bird had posted a fix for this on the theory that your phone is defaulting back to your home wi-fi, looks like you are in your backyard? Try forgetting your home wi-fi while you are near your house, that will make the phantom the strongest signal it sees.
     
  6. RobFallen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    That might be the problem but yesterday I was a good half mile from the house and it was doing the same :/ clear open area


    Sent from my iPhone 5s using Tapatalk 2 Pro
     
  7. Pantrax

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rob, I am having the same issues, except that mine now won't produce a wifi network. Already tried airplane mode, different mobile devices, different wifi repeater, binding, you name it. Do someone knows where the P2V+ produces wifi? I have been calling DJI but no luck. At this stage I rather open up the V+ and try to fix it myself. Maybe something went loose inside the P2V+
     
  8. RobFallen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm hoping nothing is loose :( will try some tests tomorrow


    Sent from my iPhone 5s using Tapatalk 2 Pro
     
  9. Pantrax

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do anyone knows where is the antenna that connects to the wifi? Where its located? I know in the first Vision, it was in the camera.
     
  10. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    The PV+ FPV antennas are in the battery compartment. Remove your battery and look inside. You'll see one on either side.
     
  11. Pantrax

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Phantom stopped connecting to Wifi after a very small crash. Gimbal and camera are working fine. Do you think something might be damaged or loose inside the phantom? Wifi Repeater only shows a network when I press reset. I already tried with a different wifi repeater and different mobile devices.
     
  12. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Check the little connectors on the front top of the gimbal. Make sure they are completely seated. If they are, next step would be to open the Phantom and check the same cables where they connect inside the Phantom.
     
  13. reynoldsyoung

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    Dirty, do think "something lose" could account for no video feed?
     
  14. reynoldsyoung

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, VA
    I mean have some relation to the black screen in the app?
     
  15. Pantrax

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Still no luck....

    Let's see what DJI has to say.
     

    Attached Files:

  16. Pantrax

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I guess no solution to this yet
     
  17. lbrocato

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may be due to other wifi on the same frequency. Go somewhere away from houses and businesses and try it.
     
  18. Pantrax

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried that already. :(
     
  19. Dirty Bird

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2014
    Messages:
    0
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Glen Burnie, MD - USA
    Looks like the phone connects to the Extender, but the Extender isn't connecting to the Vision+. There is a a procedure described in the Vision+ manual for binding the Wi-Fi Extender to the Vision+ (in the event you had to replace a component). Have you tried that procedure? My diagnosis, based upon what I know, is either a wire isn't connected, the Vision+ isn't bound to the Extender, or the Wi-Fi in the Vision+ has failed.
     
  20. Pantrax

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already tried binding it but that didn't work. The weird thing is that the extender won't produce a wifi network unless I hit the reset button. Then when I finally bind the Extender to the Phantom, the network disappears and won't let me join it again unless I reset the Extender and repeat the whole process again.