Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FPV Increase GoPro

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by dotcom, Mar 4, 2015.

  1. dotcom

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi! Im looking to increase my FPV to the GoPro Hero 3 White and I don't want to spend that much money. What do you guys recommend?
     
  2. loganboyd

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I do not understand this question.
    Do you currently have any FPV components?
    Do you currently have a GoPro Hero?
    What do you mean by increase your FPV?
     
  3. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    Let me guess....

    You are currently using the Gopro App on your smartphone with wifi? I assume you are using a FC40 on 5.8GHz since we're at the FC40 forum here.

    I wouldn't really bother to increase the wifi range, the gopro wifi has way too much lag to use as FPV solution. But if you want, do a search here or on youtube. There are lots of folks using wifi repeaters to extend the range considerably, although everybody I know here uses the FC40 cam on wifi, unless they have a regular FPV Tx/Rx system.

    A decent FPV setup will set you back for at least 250 bucks [edit: make that 300] for a video transmitter 2,4GHz, 1.2Ghz or 900Mhz, a receiver, a screen, a screen mount and battery. You can take the FPV image from the gopro on your screen and reach distances over 2 km with the proper antennae.
     
  4. Mattsimok

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sunland, CA
    Wait a sec! I thought that was big no, no? I thought you aren't supposed to use the wifi feature of the gopro while flying? Is this not true????
     
  5. Fuji-Flyer

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern UK
    The FC40 as with Phantom 2 plus uses 5.8Ghz for flight control and the Wifi is normally 2.8Ghz I believe, so will only affect Phantom 1 & 2 users who have a 2.4Ghz controller