Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FPV for Phantom1

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by ATOMSK, Aug 18, 2014.

  1. ATOMSK

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I have a phantom 1 and I've been flying it around with the GoPro3 White. After flying I get to download the images or video off the camera. It's pretty fun, but I think i'd like to play with FPV. What would I need to get a FPV system set up. I have no experience with RC quadcopters, but I'm pretty crafty and I'm not afraid of modding my toys. I've been searching the internet and I have found some kits, but nothing that says specifically that it works with the Phantom1.

    Do i have to buy a whole kit with camera, or can I hook it up to my GoPro?

    http://hobbywireless.com/58-ghz-systems ... p-918.html
     
  2. pritchard150

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    You can use any FPV setup on an P1 that you can on a regular P2 (non-Vision/Vision+), and they'll all let you use the gopro as the video source. You can buy an all-in-one package but often you can do better with the price and each component by picking them all yourself.

    While the stinger gear mentioned above would work, there's certainly many more budget-minded options out there.
     
  4. ATOMSK

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston

    Hmmm, can you point me towards an all in one kit that will hook up to a GoPro. Most of the all-in-ones I've found come with the camera.
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Sorry, I didn't catch at first you were looking at the FatShark goggle kits specifically. Any of those can use a gopro via an adaptor cable like this one: http://www.readymaderc.com/store/index. ... ts_id=1296
     
  6. ATOMSK

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I don't think I'm looking for any specific kits. Just trying to figure out the quickest/easiest way to get FPV. From what I understand, i'll need a transmitter mounted to the Phantom and an adaptor that plugs it into my GoPro. I'll also need a receiver that I can connect to goggles or a tablet. I'd like to get some quality components to i'm not having to upgrade parts right away.
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    You're pretty much on the right track there, the next step would probably be to decide if you want to use goggles, or a monitor, or both. You can get goggles with a receiver built in (like the kit you linked), that can then send the video signal to a monitor as well. Or, you can get a monitor and receiver and feed that signal to goggles if you decide to.

    Here's an example of an all-in-one kit with monitor instead of goggles, it's the same one I bought at the end of last year but it still works great: http://www.readymaderc.com/store/index. ... ts_id=2066

    There's other ways to do it though, including newer monitors with the receiver and battery built in.
     
  8. ATOMSK

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston

    Thank you. I feel like I'm starting to get my mind wrapped around this. I like the link you posted, but that seems like a lot of stuff to carry around. Maybe goggles will be a better option for me.

    What do you think of this kit? It's a different transmitter, I don't know the difference between the 25mW and 600mW. Is that the power? Does it matter? Should I just buy the 600mw transmitter, antennae, goggles, and gopro cable separate?
    http://www.readymaderc.com/store/index. ... ts_id=2282

    I'm just worried about buying a transmitter and pair of goggles that don't jive well. I also want to make sure I get good range with the ability to fly around a small park and around trees.

    This kit is cheaper, but I'm assuming it's because it doesn't have the good antennae
    http://www.readymaderc.com/store/index. ... ts_id=1129
     
  9. ATOMSK

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I was about to buy that kit, but it's out of stock. (the monitor is out). So i'm considering buying the Black Pearl
    http://www.rangevideo.com/en/lcd-screen ... esign.html

    I was looking into OSD and see that they plug into something that's mounted on the leg, but I don't think I have that. Can i get an OSD with the P1?
     
  10. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Yes, you'll just need to add a canbus port or solder the OSD leads straight to the mainboard. This mod shows the process you would use for that: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7031
     
  11. ATOMSK

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    I just wanted to add an update for anyone who's interested.

    I bought:
    Black Pearl 7" LCD Monitor with 7-Channel 5.8GHz Diversity Rx
    ImmersionRC 5.8GHz 600mW Audio / Video Transmitter
    5.8GHz BlueBeam Ultra Antenna System, RHCP
    5.8GHz Circular Polarized Patch Antenna, RHCP (SMA)
    SMA to SMA Extension Cable, RG-402 Coax (Bendable Extension)
    GoProHD Hero3 Camera Cable for ImmersionRC / FatShark (A/V&P)

    I got everything from DPCAV.com (Digital Products Company)
    I added a note for them to review the order and stated this was my complete FPV setup for a P1. They replied and mentioned that everything looks good, but I didn't add any power for the Tx. I went ahead and bought the wire from them that connects it to the balance port on the Lipo battery, but I also went and bought a couple items from RMRC. I bought a power cord to hook up to the onboard power from the P1 and a Battery Voltage Tester - With Audio Alarm (since I don't have OSD)

    Over the weekend I saw a youtube video where this guy used a fiber optic cable to bring the light from the blinking LED over to inside of his flight camera. I thought this idea was very cleaver. I might do that in the future.
     
  12. ATOMSK

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    So my FPV stuff comes in today! I don't think I'll have time to set it up tonight, but will try this weekend. Right now, I'm missing OSD and a gimbal. I'm researching which OSD's I can buy that provide their own telemetry instead of getting it off the phantom like the DJI iOSD does. This way, all I need to do is add power and leave the Phantom board alone. I can't tell, but I think the EzOSD or the Remzibi does what I'm looking for. I'm still trying to figure this out
    http://www.readymaderc.com/store/index. ... ts_id=1186
    or
    http://www.readymaderc.com/store/index. ... cts_id=452

    If i can't have OSD without modifying/soldering to the main board, I just wont do it.

    I'm also looking for a good gimbal for my P1.
    Seems like everyone uses the Zenmuse here because it is designed for the Phantom2, but since I have the Phantom1 I'll need an adapter kit, and it doesn't exactly look plug-n-play.
    What do you think about this one:
    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... hers_.html
     
  13. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I would suggest the EzOSD if you're going to go with an independent telemetry/OSD setup...it's a well-tested model and integrates easily in to the P1's power chain. However it will make things get crowded inside if they aren't already.

    I'm afraid I don't have an familiarity with that gimbal, I think others around here have used it with a P1
     
  14. ATOMSK

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2014
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Houston
    Thanks for your input. I will investigate that EzOSD.

    I know that Gimbal I posted is 2d, but the price was nice, and I'm not doing any pro videography
     
  15. HeliRy

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver Island, Canada.
    That's a good looking set up. So just to make sure, if I got that kit and added the FPLVR helix and pinwheel antennas.... I'm good to go?

    Cheers
     
  16. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    The receiver in that setup isn't a diversity setup, so you only need one Rx antenna for that one.

    Not included in that kit is whatever connection cable you'll need on the phantom to connect the Tx to everything. The cable you need depends on what components are in your video chain (gimbal, osd, etc).
     
  17. HeliRy

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver Island, Canada.
    Gotcha. I'm just doing a plain set up without OSD and using the GoPro and the FPV camera. In that case am I right in thinking all of need is the GoPro cable to plus into the Tx?
     
  18. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Correct, if you have no gimbal (at least not a Zenmuse) and no iOSD, then the camera-to-transmitter cable in that kit will do the trick. The power connection for your Tx will need to be spliced/plugged in to the Aux power lead coming out of your Phantom (grey/red cable)
     
  19. HeliRy

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2014
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Vancouver Island, Canada.
    Oops, forgot to mention I do have an H3-2D running via the upgrade board.
     
  20. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    No worries, then you don't need to connect that cable from the gopro to the transmitter. Instead you can use this cable to take the video and power feeds straight from the Phantom's mainboard: http://www.firstpersonview.com/cables/d ... tter-cable

    With that, the video is fed from the camera through the gimbal up in to the Phantom, and then out through that cable along with power for the Tx.