Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FPV faulty?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Mods' started by Mr.P, Jul 3, 2014.

  1. Mr.P

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hiya, installed the immersion RC 5.8Gz 600 mw tx but not getting any signal. Is there a way of telling if it's the tx at fault or the phantom circuitry? I presume as the gimbal is connected to the same board that if the tx is not working then the gimble would also not be working?

    The receiver is a black pearl 7" monitor.

    Thanks

    A
     
  2. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    If the tx is working correctly and the Black Pearl tuned to the right channel you should get either the video feed (of course!) or a black screen if the problem is with the feed from the camera. If tx isn't working correctly or the black pearl isn't on the right channel you'll just get static.
     
  3. Mr.P

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, thanks for this. The transmitter is brand new, so could it be a problem inside the phantom? It's wired up correctly.

    & also is there - to your knowledge a red LED installed on the Emersion RC 5.8 Gz Transmitter?
     
  4. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Sorry, don't run Immersion gear so couldn't tell you.

    How exactly have you wired it to the GoPro?
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Yes the Immersion 600mW video transmitter has a little red light on it when operating.

    What version of the black pearl do you have, the one with 32 channels or 7 channels?
     
  6. Mr.P

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    hiya, thanks for your reply.

    I've discovered since, that its actually a power issue from the board but the usb works fine as does everything else. Is there another way to power the transmitter?
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    If the power feed from the board to the Tx is fried then there's a good chance that the video signal from the gimbal to the Tx is bad as well...did you have the Tx connected to the 4-wire cable coming out of the Phantom?
     
  8. Mr.P

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
  9. tom3holer

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Cape Cod, Ma.
    If you have a volt meter you can check the power to the Tx and see if its OK.
    There is also a dedicated cable for the Immersion/mini OSD, that works very well.
    If the transmitter get warm after being on a bit then you can assume its powered OK.

    Tom