Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Fpv connect to the goPro hero 3

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by Bjorn Thore, Mar 10, 2013.

  1. Bjorn Thore

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Does anyone know how to connect the Fpv (Fat Shark predator V2) to the GoPro hero 3?

    I have tried many ways but haven't figured it out jet.


    Hope fore some help


    Regard

    Bjorn
     
  2. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
  3. Bjorn Thore

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    Gizmo you really made my day! I have sourcing for this for a while now..


    Tanks again
     
  4. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    glad I could help!
    I'm getting the same cable this week, can't wait to try FPV'ing!
     
  5. Bjorn Thore

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2013
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Norway
    I got my Gopro hero 3 fpv cabel. Need some help i can`t get it to work..

    any ideas?


    Regards
    Bjorn
     
  6. pwright

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Follow basic troubleshooting techniques.

    Can you verify the GoPro is putting out a video feed? You would do this by connecting it to your TV or some other video monitor through the appropriate GoPro cable.

    Do you have a separate video source that you can test the transmitter with? Either a camcorder or so device that you can verify it putting out a composite video signal via an RCA jack. Hook that up to the transmitter and see if you can get a signal at the receiver in.

    Did you double check that TX and RX are on the same channel?

    How did you power the TX? Did it come with a cable meant to be used with the Phantom or did you make one? Does the transmitter have lights to provide any kind of indication of functionality?
     
  7. skyking14u

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you Gizmo 3000 for the cable source--I was having the same frustration trying to find a cable. I hope mine connects better than Bjorn's did, but will follow the recommendations if I have problems. At least getting the cable is the first step--a biggie!
     
  8. frankdcohen

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I just cut the red wire to eliminate power to the gopro without messing everything else up?
     
  9. PTCX

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    Messages:
    407
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    I hope so.
    My problem with that cable is it won't fit trough any existing holes and I don't want to make another hole.
    I have tried it out with all of the FPV parts taped together and velcro'd to the outside of the Phantom and it worked very well.The view through the GoPro is much clearer and sharper than the little FPV camera.
     
  10. frankdcohen

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have all of my cables and the transmitter on the outside. I purchased a deeper battery door, which makes cabling to the battery much easier. I don't know if it is worth modifying the Phantom or just investing in a 450 or 550 or something like that.
     
  11. jakester

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2013
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had som problems with my hero2 cable as well, turned out that they put the small cables on the other end in the wrong place (the black was in "power" and that was wrong. I put the black in "ground" and then video and audio for the other two. THen it worked fine.
    /J