Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FPV booster doesn't know where I am

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Mcook929, Mar 9, 2015.

  1. Mcook929

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    I was out flying yesterday and in the middle of the flight my location changed in the FPV booster app. The wand was located where I was and it was pointing at the Phantom and then on the screen it flipped 180 degrees and then came back and then jumped to the other side of the screen. In this picture I am actually standing at the home point but from what this is showing I am about a mile or so away. After I noticed this I came back and landed and then went on another flight and had the same issue but this time my location was already a mile away to start.

    Then today I went out for a flight and had the same issue. To start off my location was not where I was standing.

    Any thoughts on what might be going on and how to fix it? I am using an iphone 6 and when I go to my maps app it shows my exact location so I know it isn't the iphone 6's GPS.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. rbhamilton

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2014
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    13
    Which app? There are lots of Boosters out there.
     
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,890
    Likes Received:
    5,564
    Location:
    US
  4. Mcook929

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Yup that's the one.
     
  5. PVFlyer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    125
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Did you turn on Location Services and grant the right of ALLOW LOCATION ACCESS to the app?
     
  6. Mcook929

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    Yeah its all turned on. It was working just fine and then all of a sudden it just started jumping around and now it thinks I'm a mile away.
     
  7. MRSpyder2U

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rome, Georgia y'all
    Great alibi if you ever want to knock over a convenience store.

    "As you can see, officer, I wasn't anywhere where near the place."
     
  8. PVFlyer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2014
    Messages:
    1,484
    Likes Received:
    125
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    It seems your iPhone reported incorrect location occasionally. If you have cellular network coverage, you may try accessing internet to enable A-GPS via cellular network while Wifi connecting to Phantom network.

    You may refer to a simple procedure "How to Access Internet on iOS while Connecting to Phantom Network" https://www.facebook.com/notes/fpv-boos ... 1781634299