FPV Antenna Configuration Questions

Reaction score
I am new to FPV setups, so please bear with me. I apologize in advance if this is covered on another thread and I missed it.

I have a P2 with a Black Pearl Diversity monitor that came with 2 rubber ducky antennas. The tx on the Phantom was the stock DJI mushroom. Out of the box I was getting really bad video noise and almost complete static at about 30m out and same at about 60m up. I did some research and it looked like the Fat Shark / ImmersionRC RP-SMA 5.8GHz Circular Polarized SpiroNet Antenna FPV was highly recommended to increase FPV signal distance. So I bought those and put them both on the Black Pearl in Diversity mode. However I still had issues with signal drop out at the same short range. So I replaced the DJI tx with one of the RHCP's on the P2 and put a rubber ducky back on the Black Pearl. So I currently have both the RHCP and rubber ducky on the Black Pearl and RHCP as the tx. This has given me a much better signal at longer distances (about 500m before getting bad noise). I have since done a lot of research on how each of these antennaes work and the pros and cons of each one. And now I have some questions:

1. Would I benefit from getting another RHCP on the Black Pearl and having one straight up and the other bent at 90 degrees.

2. Would it be better to get a LHCP for the second antennae?

3. Or am I better off keeping the rubber ducky as the second antennae so that I have more omni directional coverage?

4. What is the best configuration here?

If you are looking for performance, get rid of the rubber ducks! Don't spend your money on fatshark spironet antennas! They are just ok.

For long range, helical antenna and patch antenna will be the ones. Only drawback, they are directional, you have to point the antenna towards the bird to get good reception.