Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

FPV 640x480@30fps - does it work?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by Mako79, Dec 15, 2014.

  1. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    I have discovered that there are variations in the wifi modules.
    I have come across 3 vision plus wifi units and tested with the same bird and same galaxy note 4 FPV device.

    1. The one with my original Plus - was never able to display 640x480 @30fps - now dead. I used to get 250-300m fpv and about 500m with the FPV booster app.
    2. Replacement module - brand new - could not get it to display 640x480@30fps.
    3. Used replacement unit - Runs 640x480 @ 30fps perfectly.

    The number 3 used replacement unit is currently installed. I will do a flight test today to see how well it performs as stock.

    Can others please advise if they are able to get FPV 640*480@30fps? I don't care about range, I just want to know if you able to.

    Thanks
     
  2. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    I can get it but it often lags or drops out when over about 800 ft drop to 640x480 15 I can get to 5500 ft good feed this is stock version no holes
     
  3. RichWest

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Re: wifi module performances

    Are these the V3 or V2 of the wifi module? Holes versus no holes....

    Good luck on you being successful.

    EDIT - I get 640x480 @ 30fps if within close proximity - 0 to 10ft. Back down to 640x480 @ 15fps all day long...
     
  4. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Re: wifi module performances

    The Vision Plus Ver2 (3 axis gimbal with no motor/prop/controller upgrade)
     
  5. DrJoe

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    591
    Likes Received:
    96
    Jeez... I must have missed P2V+ ver 1 being upgraded to ver 2. I got an original plus when they came out in April. The placard on the bottom of mine says ver 1. Anyone know what the difference is between ver 1 and ver 2?
     
  6. RichWest

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Ok, smarty pants...you know what I meant....but I'll look at my unit in a few minutes, mine was circa Aug. 2014

    EDIT: Mine is V2.0 on the bird's belly....
     
  7. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    When they talk about the vision series, they include the original ball camera Vision (non plus).
    Ver1 = Vision (non plus)
    Ver2 = 3 axis gimbal (no upgrades).
    Ver3 = 3 axis gimbal and the bells and whistles.

    Jo, like their firmwares, the naming conventions aren't thought through...