Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Formware update question?

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by kyfootdoc, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. kyfootdoc

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, I've been scouring the dji.com website for the firmware update for my Phantom 3 Standard and there is no firmware listed under the standard downloads section, but therw IS version 1.6 listed under the Phantom 3 Pro downloads section. My question is, will it be OK to use the download from the Phantom 3 Pro downloads section to update my firmware? As far as i can tell, they are essentially the same?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,921
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
    No. You should only update the firmware from the DJI GO app. It'll prompt you to install the update if one is available.
     
  3. fordruid

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Open DJI GO, on first page click update button.
     
  4. kyfootdoc

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    By updating via the app, will it update the firmware on both RC and quad?
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,921
    Likes Received:
    5,573
    Location:
    US
  6. fordruid

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    114
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Yep, and installed battery. If you have extra batteries finish first install the put each battery in UAS to update them
     
  7. kyfootdoc

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. Reading the manual, ot seems like you have to physically connect the aircraft and the RC