Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flytrex !!!

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by gunslinger, Dec 3, 2013.

  1. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Yep, I've had one since I first got my Phantom, I think a lot of owners here do or have used the flytrex for data logging.

    One of the members here, fdnyfish, posted some good tutorial vids on using the flytrex data with Dashware to put telemetry gauges on your vids: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OoicZxUb10U
     
  3. Driffill

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    3
    Mine arrived only a few days ago! I can't wait to install it and go fly!

    Also, Amit R (from FlyTrex) is one of the most helpful people I have ever found! I bought my flytrex because I was actually already making an order for some custom cables that Amit said he would/could make up exactly as I was after and had the correct "Male/Felmale" plugs, I figured while I was paying for shipping I may as well get the FlyTrex Core.
     
  4. HollyFlier

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Howell, MI US
    Are you guys using this on the Phantom Vision? Or is it only for the Original Phantom? I have a Vision and would love to get it, if it works.
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Yeah Amit is awesome, always quick and happy to answer questions and give help if needed, one of the best vendors I've dealt with.
     
  6. Peter Patricelli

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2013
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Eugene, OR USA
    One question.....where does one mount it?? It looks and sounds as though it goes in under the shell, but then how does one get the micro-SD card out to download?? Would suck rotten eggs to have to pop the top to get to it every time.
     
  7. Siddy

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    I mounted mine inside beside the battery but the temp reading is from the battery not outside.
     
  8. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    So you have to pop the cover to retrieve the SD? :(

    -slinger
     
  9. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    It's very easy to mount it externally anywhere you want with double-sided tape, or zip-ties depending on whatever aftermarket landing gear etc you have.
     
  10. gpauk

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    But then you have to get cables in and out of the PV? Would be good to see some installation photos, and confirmation that it's PV compatible.
     
  11. Driffill

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2013
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    3
    As long as the GPS plug on the vision is the same as the original, it should work fine! The flytrex puts a y cable on the GPS cable and draws power via that and logs its data via GPS co-ordinates.

    I'm half way thru a "re-build" of my V1 phantom, basically got everything unplugged and out, still waiting on a couple of mounts and adapters and ill be piecing it all back together, hopefully very efficiently!
     
  12. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    What does the FlyTrex get me that I don't get with the logging capability of the iOSD Mk2 and GPSexporter?
     
  13. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    I have the iOSD II but I haven't installed it or checked the logging capability, but I know that all the data the flytrex logs is also displayed on the iOSD, so it may be redundant for you to use one.

    The flytrex does have the ability to dump the data to a raw .csv file to use/import with other apps (such as Dashware and Google Earth), but it's the same data the NAZA registers, so it really won't give you any numbers you can't already see.
     
  14. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    You have an IOSD on your P2V?

    -slinger
     
  15. Wintermute

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think the iOSD can display GPS coordinates.
     
  16. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Ahh ok, I was thinking it did display them, or at least log them. If not, then the flytrex would have the advantage there, but it's still the same GPS data the NAZA is using (doesn't come from a separate GPS module).


    Nope, I got it for the 550 I'm building, I bought a Wookong-M and got the iOSD II and 2.4GHz Data Link for free. But I might try adding it (the OSD) to the Phantom at some point just for fun.
     
  17. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA

    Attached Files:

  18. HollyFlier

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2013
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Howell, MI US
    This thing looks pretty interesting! Has anyone installed it on a Phantom Vision, yet?
     
  19. amitregev

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    6
    HI HollyFlier :)

    Just a short update to confirm that we installed Flytrex today with the Phantom Vision and everything is fully functional. Notice that the Phantom Vision uses Naza v2 flight controller and not the v1, so when connecting the Flytrex Phantom Cable inside to the Vision you need to connect one side to the GPS cable and the other side should go to the GPS slot on the Vision board (instead of connecting it to the Naza controller, like with the Phantom v1).

    We're now working on new installation guide for the Vision and hoping to have this ready on our site in the next couple of days. :)
     
  20. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    Amit:

    Thank you very much for addressing this. I'm SO looking forward to installing... Very cool concept !!! :) :) :)