Flytrex vs iphone app for logging?

Reaction score
Disclaimer:
I'm a new Phantom Pilot... new enough, that Im probably still flying this with a foolish-looking grin on my face :)

So, I LOVE the way the flight data looks when merged with the flight video (been struggling with THIS (on MacOS) as well- but that's another story!)

I was considering a flytrex unit, but tried the iphone app utility to grab the data and its worked flawlessly for me.

So my question is this:

I definitely see the advantages of the Flytrex Live (automatic downloading of data, "blackbox" functionality), but
What advantage (if any) would there be using the core 2 vs my $8 software logging solution?

I have not used the app so can't comment what you gain there but using the Flytrex Core 2 I will say I like their web setup where you upload your missions to their server. You can select public or private. There is a place for notes, etc so I can look back on notes as well as see my dates, max speed, max distance, etc. You can export the data for Dashware and Google Earth. You can also link to a Youtube or Vimeo video if you have one. So its really a nice data record center.

The core 2 is always on the Phantom and even if you forget to insert a micro SD card its recording your missions. So if you later decided that you SHOULD have recorded something you can insert the card and get data. With the phone apps if you did not do it you are out of luck.

For me it works well. I am sure someday DJI will write the telemetry file and video/still image file to the same micro SD. Or better yet do the overlay for you with a toggle option.

I will be interested to see others comments to see about values that are on one compared to the others. Does your app show battery voltage? That is one thing I am missing from the Core 2.

I downloaded the logger app... Where do I get the data to import into dashware?
Where is the file saved to?
BTW.. I'm using an iPhone incase it matters....

thx !!

Jeremyconk said: