Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flytrex Live 3G questions and big fail.

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Mods' started by struijs, Apr 15, 2015.

  1. struijs

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    As i and many more people don't get any answer from the support guys at Flytrex i try it here.

    I have to write a review about the flytrex so installed the device via the canbus adapter.

    Lets say it short. Flytrex live 3G, power up, red light, and after a few seconds solid blue for the rest of the day...:) No flashing, no purple, and no green.

    Again, Flytrex is reading the support case (i got a confirmation about that) but is completely ignoring me. Is there here somebody who can help me to get this device working? Otherwise the review will be very short.... A **** thing. :)

    Peter
     
  2. PhantomPhreak

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The OC in CA
    Hopefully they will see this post. I have had a problem open for several weeks, no replies. Their support is very inconsistent, Facebook, here on the forum, and through their support. Although my problem is minor and I realize they get busy, they seem to have time to develop a log book, Phantom 3 and Inspire hardware.
     
  3. struijs

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    They can develop what they want. As you see is the flytrex live community not as big as they want. (almost no live flights on their site). And for sure this is because of bad support.
    I give them some more days and than i write my review (its more a story about bad device and horrible support now). And than for me it's case closed.

    P.
     
  4. 2nd2non

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    So you get the blue light which means your data network is working? That's what I have, but just set it up. After waiting 2 months to get my Flytrex3G, I can't imagine not being able to use it soon!
     
  5. struijs

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0

    NO, yes i get a blue light. But DIRECT after red. So no blinking purple in between. So absolute no data connection. Even without simcard it gives this blue light.

    "funny" detail is that they offered me a new one. "please send the invoice", i did, and after that a very big silence. The Flytrex support is horrible. When i write my blog i advice everybody not to buy Flytrex stuff if they don't fix this in the next few days.

    This is misleading.
     
  6. 2nd2non

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    Ironically, I also just received my second device in 24hrs. Since I can't get the first to work, maybe I should open this package??!! I think I'll give Flytrex a day to respond then decide to open the second package...
     
  7. struijs

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0

    Keep me informed. And ofcourse, open it and try it. If this one is also not working than is just ****!
     
  8. 2nd2non

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    208
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    I got a response from Flytrex and am working through some issues with my setup. Will be able to test again tomorrow.
     
  9. amitregev

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi struijs :)

    I'll be glad to try and help with this, but I'll need a bit more technical details about your setup and the exact LED flashing sequence that you are seeing to better try and debug this issue.

    1. What SIM are you using?

    2. If I understand correctly the first LED you are seeing is red and then it turns solid blue. Any chance that the second color you actually see is purple and not blue? If possible, it will really help very much if you could post a short video showing your LED flashing sequence. This will give me a lot more information so I can see what exactly is taking place on your end.

    3. What aircraft are you using? Do you have the Live 3G installed using the CAN-BUS Adapter or without?

    Looking forward for your follow-up. Thanks! :)
     
  10. struijs

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did i woke up some people to write in this forum?

    Had finaly contact with some people from flytrex via email. But after some "promises" the silence start again. So, i am again alone in the forrest.

    1: Vodafone and Simyo (KPN Network) Sims
    2: Red, Blue (don't know if i can upload a video here)
    3: Phantom 2 V3

    NB Found out that i have a Live and not the 3G. So maybe old stock from FPV24.com SO BE AWARE GUYS!
     
  11. amitregev

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2013
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hi Struijs :)

    Thanks for the feedback!

    Since you are using the previous Live 2G, and not our latest Live 3G, I'm pretty confident that the connection issues you are seeing are due to using the previous version. The newer Live 3G uses a far more advanced GSM 3G module which connects to the network much more easily and quickly.

    If you would like and send you just recently ordered the Live 2G, please send a short email to our support team at support@flytrex.com and we will be glad to ship to you a replacement Live 3G system and replace your current 2G version with the latest version. I'm confident you will have far better experience using the new Live 3G.

    Please include reference to this post with your email, so our support will know to check the status with me first thing tomorrow morning and we'll arrange the replacement 3G system shipment to you already in the next 2-3 days from now.

    I hope this helps. Please let me know if there is anything else I can help with. Thanks! :)
     
    Glassman likes this.