Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flytrex - "Diver" badge

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by poostik, Jul 5, 2014.

  1. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    I downgraded my firmware yesterday from 3.04 back to 1.08. I did a test flight and was checking my Flytrex data afterward and it said I unlocked the "Diver 50" badge which says I descended 50ft below my starting point. Which I totally did not. If I did, Id've been underground. I can't think of anything that may have caused this except that the elevation info on google maps is wrong.

    Here's a link to the Flytrex data:

    http://www.flytrex.com/mission/marc-m-47488/

    The flight went pretty well but this has me worried that my bird may not know where it is when it's in gps mode. It was very windy yesterday and I flew after a pretty crazy rain/hail storm. When I look at the flight pattern, it looks pretty accurate. You can see how long I was messing around very close to takeoff for the first 1/4 of the flight. If you slide along the bottom, you can see the elevation I started from and where it "thinks" I descended over 50ft. The distance from takeoff is like 2 ft away.

    Anyone have any ideas of what happened here?
     
  2. GearLoose

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2013
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    1
    You have joined an exclusive Diver Club, of which I am also a member. Google Earth is to blame in my case -- it has been determined that Google Earth has serious mapping errors in the area where I live. Do your FlyTrex flight paths seem accurate, other than altitude?
     
  3. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    haha. I'm honored to be a member. Glad I'm not the only one. Thought I might've done something when I reverted back to an old firmware.

    Yup. The flight path seems pretty spot on.
     
  4. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Flytrex - "Diver" badge

    Make sure the tiny barometer hole isn't blocked or your altitude data will be erroneous.

    I had data saying I lifted off at 200ft AGL until I realized I'd accidentally blocked free site flow to the barometer hole.

    Hope that helps
     
  5. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Re: Flytrex -


    where is this barometer hole? (sounds sexy)
    looking around now . . .
     
  6. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA

    Attached Files:

  7. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Thanks.
    I have the older one, but I'll look out for it. It's clear of all objects as far as I know and hasn't changed locations since I installed it.
     
  8. BigTulsa

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Tulsa, OK
    I had the same thing happen to me yesterday at a park near my brother's house. I noticed that it continued to happen between battery changes, so it's likely Google's data that is corrupted right there. I've not had it happen anyplace else I use it.
     
  9. AlaskaSean

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since the elevation is based on the barometer, is it possible there was a weather front, most likely a low pressure front, moving in to your area? That would be my guess.