Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flytrex Core 2 Installs?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by damoncooper, Apr 30, 2014.

  1. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Anyone have any install photos or experiences / recommendations with the new Flytrex Core 2 module on a P2 non-vision?

    I just ordered one and I'm just wondering if there is a preferred place to mount externally with a gimbal and FPV Tx already external.

    Thx in advance!
     
  2. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  3. mcmax20

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have one on the way as well. It's tiny so i'm just planning to mount it underneath right behind the gimbal. I have my fpv tx mounted inside and an iOSD mounted underneath towards the back of the P2. When i add the ground station (I take it on and off) it goes under the iOSD. The Flytrex will be mounted over to one side so i can easily access the microsd.
     
  4. 2trickpony

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2013
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Aberdeenshire, Scotland
    I also have 1 on order.
    Will mount it just behind the gimble probably.
     
  5. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
  6. hjscm

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    1
    i didn't think they have shipped any yet. i have one coming too
     
  7. jondrew

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm, they said shipping within 48 hrs last Thursday and I had not heard anything yet so I emailed them. Here is the response I just got:

    Thanks for getting in touch with your question about your Flytrex.

    I'm so sorry for the wait with your Core 2. We've been experiencing some delays with our stock, but we expect to be able to send your unit in about a week from now.

    Again, we are all so sorry about the delay here, and we really hope that it hasn't caused too much inconvenience for you. Thank you so much for your patience and understanding :)

    Kind of annoys me because I paid the expedited shipping and there was no mention of them being out of stock
     
  8. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Ditto on the 48 hour shipping bit but no delivery yet.
     
  9. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Got an email with tracking number but tracking page using that number still says nothing has been shipped yet. Sent a note to support, no response yet.
     
  10. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Just got an update that it was in fact sent. Checking tracking: "The EMS item was sent to the United States".
     
  11. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    What's the new one have that the old one doesn't?
     
  12. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    No idea but I didn't have the older one. I believe it's much smaller though.
     
  13. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
  14. poostik

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2014
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    I did. But I didn't think to look under "support" to find what was new. :D
    Thanks.
    I don't know if I'll get to replacing my old one but if I do, I'll be sure to search out for any updated videos from you. Your video got me up and running the first time.
     
  15. Hawkeye 1

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fairdale, Kentucky
    If you will take their tracking number and go to USPS tracking and put in that number, you can get info provided it's made it to the States....it comes through Customs in Jamaica, New York.
     
  16. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    I get this, but no worries...I'm sure it'll get here.
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Hawkeye 1

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fairdale, Kentucky
    That's all you will ever get unless you put their number in at USPS....that what i found out when I ordered the Flytex 1.
     
  18. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Sorry that is USPS
     
  19. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    It's hit Jamaica Plain, NY, so hopefully any day now :).
     
  20. damoncooper

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2014
    Messages:
    745
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    Arrived. Wow, it's small! Very pleasantly surprised.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Next to install.