Flying without insurance

Reaction score
I am brand new to RC flying, and am considering joining the BMFA "British Model Flying Association" for the insurance cover. I beleive that the 3rd party cover is £5 million. But I am wondering how many people don't see the need for it. So, do you fly without insurance?

I have insurance through membership of http://www.FPVUK.org £5M public liability insurance for all flying, FPV or otherwise, for £15.80 per year, pro-rated memberships are available. It's a "virtual" club, so you don't get a glossy magazine, but the Chair, Simon Dale (owner of http://www.firstpersonview.co.uk who I highly recommend), has been instrumental in negotiations with the CAA for relaxing regulations on FPV flying in particular and multirotor flying in general.

EDIT: to say this was not to imply fpvuk.org are in any way better or otherwise than BMFA, just giving another option re: insurance that covers our flying. :)

I've used FPVuk for a couple of years now and for the money it's a no brainer. I've never had to claim but I keep a copy of it in my flight case which came in handy when some nut job came over and told me I wasn't allowed to fly in my local park. Producing the document made me look all official, he stood there and read it, gasped at the fact that as he was talking to me the phantom had flown home and landed itself, then he went on his merry way, probably to moan at the children in the play area for enjoying themselves too much.

nagrom said: