Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flying without a map

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by DEllis, Feb 13, 2016.

  1. DEllis

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Florence, SC
    I searched but could not find the answer I am looking for. I am in an area where I have no cellular service so cannot get a google map on my iPhone. Is it still ok to fly? I am a little uncomfortable as I like to see on the mp where the home point is set.

    Thanks
     
    stoneyb245 likes this.
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    US
    Yes. You don't need the map to fly.
     
  3. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,143
    Likes Received:
    1,659
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yes it is safe to fly with no maps. Radar will help you. I usually fly without the maps as I turn airplane mode on.
     
  4. garykeithmead1

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    39
    Location:
    Uk
    Cache the map into your device through the Go app
     
    stoneyb245 and Yeager74 like this.
  5. Yeager74

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2016
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Hong Kong, China (for now)
    .. the way to go, I'd think..
     
  6. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Open up the go app on your device, set the maps to cache and then view the area you will be flying in with the app. It will retain those viewed areas and they will show when you fly. I do it all the time with my iPad that has no active SIM card in it.
     
  7. DEllis

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Florence, SC
    Ok thanks for all the help and tips!
     
  8. Kestrel24

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Your home point should update (albeit on a blank screen). Without that I would advise keeping it close
     
  9. dirtbird

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    14
    Just so I'm clear, even if you don't have a map but the home point is recorded you should be fine. I guess the GPS coordinates get logged as normal and in the event the bird needs to return to home it would do so in the exact same way it would if it had a map. Correct?

    I guess having the map is more for informational purposes than anything. It doesn't effect functionality or safeguard options built in to the transmitter or drone at all. Correct?
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,596
    Location:
    US
    Yes.

    Yes.
     
  11. Suhail78

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2016
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    92
    Dirtbird, not to be confused with the Dirty Bird, lol
     
  12. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,745
    Likes Received:
    3,457
    For most flying you don't need a map at all.
    I think I've used the map feature twice in two years.
     
    kirk2579 likes this.