Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Flying with gimbal blocked?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by jwthorpe, Aug 1, 2015.

  1. jwthorpe

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    18
    I was curious about possibly doing an airplane or helicopter style flight simulator recording. In other words, camera pointed straight out the nose, locked. I'm guessing, that flying the P3 with the gimbal block in would not be good for the motors, but I don't know the actual design. If the gimbal maintains its position only through the gyroscopes, then it's likely not a big deal. However, if there's a direct drive, then there would be a problem.

    Does anybody know just how the gimbal maintains or changes position?
     
  2. BlackHawk388

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    202
    Location:
    Point Washington, FL.
    I know on the P2V+ the directions specifically say to never power on the Quad with the block in place.
     
  3. J.James

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,882
    Likes Received:
    162
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Ya not a good Idea to fly with the gimbal locked as it can burn up the motors.. Tho if you want to have and fpv type view you can select it to be in fpv mode then the gimbal will not roll with the craft when you turn and tilt.
     
  4. JerryEl

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    3
    I tried the FPV mode and the gimbal still acts like normal so maybe that hasn't been made operable in the latest firmware yet.
     
  5. jwthorpe

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    18
    Thanks for the responses - kind of the safe conclusion I came to.

    The FPV only stops "roll" - doesn't affect"pitch". That would be a nice addition.
     
  6. Sinisalo

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2015
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    326
    I am having to send my P3P in because the gimbal doesn't stay level and nothing happens when I select FPV mode. I have noticed that it allows FPV mode if I do a gimbal cal while hovering with no wind(that was the alleged fix for the gimbal not staying level, it didn't work)