Flying Phantom at a Music Festival - is it safe?

Reaction score
Hello all, I have been flying for a few months and a friend of mine that has seen some of my shots asked me to film his music festival in Chicago at the end of August. I live in Costa Rica so I have flown around mostly jungle and beaches in my brief pilot career so there is very little chance of running into interference from WIFI etc. I am almost positive there will be multiple wifi signals and other GoPro cameras filming on site. My question is...is there a way to be 100% sure that none of these will interfere with my Phantom. My biggest fear is to lose control and crash into a dancing teen! Any help is appreciated.

That would be a no-go in my opinion. Regardless if there might be interference from gopro's or other transmissions from the festival equipment that might interfere with your copter, there is always a chance of a malfunction/pilot error that can cause a mishap which can have serious consequences if your phantom drops on a person. Not only for the person you might hit, but also for yourself. Let alone the negative press the hobby will get. There are already enough incidents out there that might result in (further) restriction of where and how we can fly.

I am worried about all the things you mention Sanderx. The festival is on a large farm so I am thinking I can fly pre-show and at a distance from people on well planned paths but, there is no reason to even think about that if I can't get find a way to keep the phantom from picking up other signals. If this is possible I will be looking to tackling the other obstacles before committing to doing it.