Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional Flying near the steel and crash

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by onderion, Aug 19, 2015.

  1. onderion

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yesterday there was a ceremony at our shipyard. I fly the P3P indoor. It was making small moves by itself when it was first take off. I thought it is because can not connect to GPS. I was flying at P-Atti mode. Firmware is 1.1.9. DJi Pilot App 1.2 with iphone 6, ios 8.4. Then it stabilized itself and I adjust the view, start the recording. After a while it was all good, I looked to the bird for checking (at sec. 7) and it was stable. After my check the bird went to its right at hit to the boat and fell down. Two propellers broken, battery out, rest is looks fine. I changed the props, put the battery back and bird not started again. Battery shows only one solid led when I want to start it. It was full charged. I changed the battery and bird started but it says compass error. After the ceremony finished I put the drone outside and calibrate the compass it worked fine. Gimbal was tilted and I calibrated it also. Now everything is working, I was lucky. I uploaded the flight log .txt file to healthydrones.com and the data shows really bad compass errors as attached pic. I know flying aroun this much steel will not a good idea but it is my job. Do you have any suggestions, what should i do next time? Here is the video for your investigation.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    What you just described is a recipe for disaster with anything that depends on a compass. Sounds like you need a bird that can go full manual so you don't have to worry about sensors going haywire and messing with the flight. But then, you'd have to worry about flying manually and shooting. I dunno man, tough one.
     
  3. geebee

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    I have had issues trying to launch my Phantom 3 from a bridge and from a parking garage.

    At the bridge DJI Pilot kept showing compass error, likely due to all of the metal, and possibly because of high power lines nearby. So I didn't fly from that spot.

    The other day, I tried to launch from the top floor of a parking garage. Again I got a compass error. I put the Phantom on top of a concrete post about 3 feet high and it gave me the GPS, Safe to Fly notification. I was able to take off and fly beyond the garage.

    My sense is large metal objects interfere with the compass mechanism and there may not be a solution other than, don't fly, or fly in ATTI mode.
     
  4. onderion

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I started drone it says ready to take off, safe to fly. Than it get 8-9 satellites sometimes, sometimes 6 satellites and no Gps mode. The all bad movements happened after take off, during flying. Flying in Atti mode will cancel the GPS, but I will have compass error issue anyway, right?
     
  5. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    correct, ATTI does not ignore the compass readings. And make sure VPS is enabled.
     
  6. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    And it appears from the manual you must be in P-GPS mode for VPS to work.
     
  7. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Nah, that's not right. VPS kicks in when you don't have sufficient GPS signal, ie, indoors. It switches to P-OPTI automatically.
     
  8. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Wrong dude. From the manual about Atti:

    "A-mode (Attitude): GPS and Vision Positioning System are not used for stabilization. The aircraft only uses
    its barometer. The aircraft can still automatically return to the home point if the control signal is lost and
    the Home Point was recorded successfully"

    That's why I use P-GPS mode indoors.
     
  9. 2nd2non

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2015
    Messages:
    794
    Likes Received:
    207
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    One other point P-Atti mode is not the same as flipping switch to Atti. The latter does not arbitrarily switch back to P-GPS mode when it 'thinks' it's sensors are operating correctly. Always take control yourself by flipping the switch, then you don't need to worry about GPS/Compass fluctuations that may cause you to crash your bird. Tip- learn to fly in raw ATTI!
     
  10. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    I see the discrepancy. I was referring to P-ATTI. So we're both right. Ok, back to work ;)
     
    snowghost likes this.
  11. snowghost

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Yeah it can be confusing. :confused:
     
  12. onderion

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    My crashed battery gives that error. When I push long to start it, only first led light show up. When I push longer to check battery life it gives 4 full leds green. but it does not start up and not charged. Trying to charge it gives also first led error. What can I do?
     
  13. droneshop

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    29
    Location:
    Calgary, AB
    P-atti would mean your bird lost GPS and VPS, bad news if it goes p-atti by itself IMO
     
  14. onderion

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bird is working fine with other batteries. But this battery is not working. İt gives this error. So what should i do with this battery
     
  15. JustinJ

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2015
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Just take the battery out of service..

    You will have to put it down to being a casualty of the crash - although harsh to lose the battery you just cannot trust it to function properly.

    (Just imagine how you will feel if you damage your phantom further as a result of another crash whilst using that battery)
     
  16. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Or Worse:confused: