Flying in windy conditions.

Reaction score
They say the P3S can withhold winds up to 25 mph...I find myself struggling with winds at 10 to 15 mph. Do you think it's bc I only have about 6 hrs flight time.and I'm not that experienced. Or should I just stay away from winds that go above 15mph

I try to keep it down to 10 MPH too. I've done higher, but seeing the thing getting swatted around like a tennis racket by the wind while the gimbal stays positioned makes me wonder if I'd like a few stress cracks in the arms as well.

Keep flying it ... learn what it does in wind ...

If you only fly in calm - you will lose so many opportunities to fly ....

Nigel

I'll go up in 25-30mph if I have to, but I'd rather not because the video quality suffers. Everyone should know how to fly competently in wind.

I guess what it depends you want to do also, for me my phantom is to create video, movies etc, so if there is wind there no point flying any way because the vieo suffers as previously said, but yeah i guess you should no how to fly in some wind, in case you ever get caught out..

Reactions: Clipper707
I'm actually surprised how steady the video is with wind ....

Main thing to remember though - don't get too far downwind and then not enough battery to get home !!

Nigel

Reactions: Keeney101
Absolutely, Dazzauk. It's about the video, which is why sometimes one must fly in wind. I was on a trip with 6 days in a city with some interesting bridges. It rained everyday except one windy day. I went up knowing I'd probably have less usable video than usual.

Of course I ended up seeing a lot more props and landing gear, flew a lot more reverse shots, but came home with something.

On the plus side, I got to visit a lot of museums on the rainy days.

Last edited:
Reactions: Dazzauk
Basically, quads of this size, and as sophisticated as they are, are just toys.

I don't fly my quads in anything above light and variable.

They don't have the grunt.

Last edited:
My advice..