Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Flying in restricted zones

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Reuben, Sep 19, 2015.

  1. Reuben

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    Guys has anyone tried to take off in a restricted zone?

    The reason I am asking is because currently I am in a small island of Gozo and on this island there is a small disused heliport. It haven't been used for over 10 years. Today I went to do a flight in a beautiful beach in between cliffs and as soon as I started the app I realised that I was on the edge of the restricted zone for this disused heliport. I got a pop up message saying you are in a no fly zone and I dismissed the message by clicking "x"

    I started up the drone and the motors but I did not fly as I was not sure what would happen (didn't want to crash it).

    So my question is:

    Would the bird have flown if I tried to take off? My understanding was that it would not even start up the motors in a restricted zone.

    any comments / experiences appreciated.
     
  2. viewkopter

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    From my experience, the motors will start but you will not be able to gain any altitude.
     
  3. Garrie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2015
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    127
    Location:
    Singapore
    I flew in the maldives recently and from my beach i can see the airport across the sea. When i started my app it also told me i was in a restricted area. But it also said fly carefully. I managed to still fly as per normal and recorded a whole video of the resort i was in. Of course, i flew carefully and in a responsible manner.
     
  4. John1

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I live by a airport and the restriction zone go right through my front yard. I cannot start p3 in no fly zone( back and part of front yard). Rest of yard in restricted zone and I can start and fly from there.
     
  5. Reuben

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    John1 so are u saying that you cannot even arm the motors at some areas in ur yard? The reason I'm asking is because my motors armed perfectly fine. I think I did the right thing to not even takeoff cause the last thing I wanted was for the bird to decide that it's to high in a (fake) restricted zone and decide to land in sea water
     
  6. reboot81

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Uddevalla, Sweden
    Gozo (Malta) doesn't have a no-fly zone according to DJI's website.
     
  7. Reuben

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    6
    well I'm not sure what it shows on the website but on the pilot app I can tell you for sure that this heliport had a red zone around it and i happen to be in it :(
     
  8. reboot81

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2015
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Uddevalla, Sweden
    You're right. The map on the website does not show the same NFZ as DJI Go app. Isn't that strange???
    I know of one other major airport thats a NFZ, but not on the webpage.
     
  9. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,750
    Likes Received:
    3,462
    Sometimes you have to go to the manual to get the information you need.
    [​IMG]
     
  10. phantom1972

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2015
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    69
    I'm as paranoid of big brother as ANYONE, but from what I've seen when I've looked actual RESTRICTED ZONES are VERY close to the applicable airport. Other than a low back yard jaunt, I don't think you'd want to be there.